Media Advisory - AEFO 2010 Policy Convention

March 13 to 16, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel, 101 Lyon St., Ottawa

OTTAWA, March 8 /CNW Telbec/ - Approximately 200 teachers and educational workers from across the province, all members of the Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO), and 50 guests will be attending AEFO's Policy Convention in Ottawa, from March 13 to 16, 2010. AEFO represents 9,500 teachers and education workers in Ontario's French-language elementary and secondary schools, both Catholic and public, and workers in other French-language establishments.

Throughout the four-day event, delegates will elect the 2010-2012 Provincial Executive, discuss issues pertaining to the operations of the Association and establish by-laws and policies for the next two years. Ontario's Minister of Education, the Honorable Leona Dombrowsky, will address the delegates on Monday, March 15.

Representatives of the media are asked to register in the Victoria Room, on the Lower Level of the Hotel. All events will be held in the Ballroom, on the Lower Level, except for the opening evening event.

    Convention highlights
    Saturday, March 13, 2010
    7 p.m.    Official opening (Pinnacle Room, Penthouse Level)

    Sunday, March 14, 2010
    12 p.m. During the luncheon, AEFO will award the Prix Anniversaire to:
              -  The Assemblée de la francophonie de l'Ontario on the
                 occasion of its 100th anniversary;
              -  Mrs. Francine Morissette for her commitment to the
                 professional development of Franco-Ontarian teachers.
            AEFO will also announce its contribution to the 25th Anniversary
            Campaign of the Fondation franco-ontarienne.

    Monday, March 15, 2010*
    12 p.m. During the luncheon, AEFO will award the Mérite franco-ontarien
            to two of its members:
           -  Mrs. Nicole Gravelle, of Sudbury, for her commitment to French-
              language education;
           -  Mrs. Marilyn Laframboise, of LaSalle, for her commitment to

    1:45 p.m. Official launch of AEFO's Books for Haiti campaign
    2:00 p.m. Guest speaker: The Honorable Leona Dombrowsky, Minister of
    7:00 p.m. Banquet and presentation of AEFO's Life Membership Award to Mr.
              Paul Taillefer of Timmins

    * Elecions to AEFO's Provincial Executive will be held throughout the
        day on March 15. Results for the position of president will be
        announced before noon.

    Tuesday, March 16, 2010
    12 p.m.   Adjournment

SOURCE Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

For further information: For further information: Marie-Élisabeth Brunet, Communications Officer, (613) 244-2336, (613) 850-6410 (cellular)

Organization Profile

Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890