Media Advisory - 32nd National Police and Peace Officers' Memorial Service on
Parliament Hill

OTTAWA, Sept. 24 /CNW Telbec/ - On Sunday, September 27, 2009, thousands of police and peace officers from across the country will gather on Parliament Hill to honour colleagues who have died in the line of duty. The Minister of Public Safety, the Honourable Peter Van Loan will participate in the 32nd Memorial Service. In the past year, 3 police and peace officers have made the ultimate sacrifice in keeping communities safe. They are:

       Constable Alan Hack - July 6, 2009 (Ontario Provincial Police,
                                Elgin County)

                  Constable James L. Lundblad - May 5, 2009
                   (Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Alberta)

       Constable Éric Lavoie - September 8, 2008 (Laval Police Service)

    Other historical names that were added this year are:

    Forest Officer Donat F. Lalonde, June 29, 1988 (Department of Forestry,
                 Lands and Wildlife-Alberta Forest Services)

    Constable Jean-Claude Phoenix, March 31, 1978 (Saint John Police Service)

     Constable Charles-Édouard Denis, July 20, 1958 (St-Joseph de Sorel
                          Municipal Police Service)

           Constable Frank Hare, June 2, 1951 (Port Dover Police)

Their names are forever etched on the glass panels erected along the perimeter wall adjacent to the Memorial Pavilion which now totals 751 fallen officers. The Service is a lasting tribute to the sacrifice of those brave men and women. "THEY ARE OUR HEROES, WE SHALL NOT FORGET THEM".

In 1998, the federal government officially proclaimed the last Sunday of each September as Police and Peace Officers' National Memorial Day. This Service gives Canadians an opportunity to express their appreciation for the ultimate dedication of these police and peace officers.

The Canadian Police and Peace Officers Annual Memorial Service is organized by the Canadian Police Association (CPA), the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) and the Canadian Peace Officers' Memorial Association (CPOMA). CPA President Charles Momy, CACP President William Blair and CPOMA President Dennis Brock will be available for interviews after the Service.

    The 32nd National Memorial Service has been scheduled as follows:

    9:00 a.m. - 10:00a.m.    Reading of the entire Honour Roll of fallen
                             officers at the Memorial Pavilion on Parliament
                             Hill, West Corner.

    10:00 a.m.               Prelude by police choirs (steps in front of the
                             Peace Tower).

    10:20a.m.                Police and Peace Officers' Parade proceeds to
                             Parliament Hill from Supreme Court of Canada,
                             corner of Kent and Wellington.

    11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.  Memorial Service on Parliament Hill.

Pictures of the fallen officers are available at /English/memorial

Members of the media are invited to set up in their designated area (West side of the steps in front of the Peace Tower) before 10:00am. Risers and hook ups are on site. Media are expected to stay within the designated area until the end of the Memorial Service.

All inquiries or requests for interviews with Memorial spokespersons or family members of fallen officers are to be directed to Pierre Collin, Communications Officer, Canadian Police Association.

Members of Parliament and Senators are invited to the reserved seating section.


For further information: For further information: Pierre Collin, Communications Officer, Canadian Police Association, Tel.: (613) 231-4168/Cell: (613) 299-6516

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890