McGill to award honorary degrees - Two Nobel prize winners among 16 recipients

MONTREAL, April 21, 2015 /CNW Telbec/ - Two Nobel prize winners, John O'Keefe (Medicine, 2014) and Daniel Kahneman (Economic Sciences, 2002), along with the Right Honourable Joe Clark, distinguished poets Lorna Crozier and Patrick Lane, astrophysicist Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell and L. Jacques Ménard, a lifelong advocate of the importance of education for all, will be among 16 individuals to receive Honorary Degrees from McGill University in the upcoming spring Convocation. 

"We are honouring 16 individuals with a diverse range of backgrounds, expertise and experience who are united by their exceptional contributions to improving the lives of so many," said Suzanne Fortier, Principal of McGill University. "I am delighted that McGill is recognizing their vision, achievements and leadership by awarding them the University's highest honour."

The recipients will be awarded their degrees on the downtown campus (May 26-29 and June 1-2) and on the Macdonald campus (June 3).

The honourees are:

  • Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell
  • The Right Honourable Joe Clark
  • Lorna Crozier 
  • The Honourable René Dussault
  • Robert Godin 
  • Daniel Kahneman
  • Martti Koskenniemi
  • Patrick Lane
  • Arthur C. F. Lau 
  • L. Jacques Ménard
  • Dr. Nubia Muñoz
  • N. R. Narayana Murthy 
  • John O'Keefe 
  • Constance Pathy
  • Dr. Harold Charles Slavkin
  • Dr. Jozef Vercruysse

For more information on the recipients, visit:


SOURCE McGill University

For further information: Carole Graveline, Media Relations, McGill University, 514-398-1385,


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890