Lionel Gelber Prize Finalists Announced for 25th Anniversary Award

TORONTO and WASHINGTON, Feb. 9, 2015 /CNW/ -

  • Evan Osnos for Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China
  • Jack Fairweather for The Good War: Why We Couldn't Win the War or the Peace in Afghanistan
  • Serhii Plokhy for The Last Empire: The Final Days of the Soviet Union 
  • Ari Shavit for My Promised Land: The Triumph and Tragedy of Israel
  • Lawrence Wright for Thirteen Days in September: Carter, Begin, and Sadat at Camp David

"These five finalists' works are rich with storytelling and analysis, originality and significance in the context of our world today. Deeply researched and intellectually powerful, they resonate and inform with clarity and intensity," said Jury Chair William Thorsell.

A literary award for the world's best non-fiction book in English on foreign affairs that seeks to deepen public debate on significant international issues, the Prize was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber.  Presented annually by The Lionel Gelber Foundation, in partnership with Foreign Policy and the Munk School of Global Affairs, a cash prize of $15,000 is awarded to the winner.

Winner announced March 30 and awarded the prize on April 21, 2015 at a free public event at the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto.

Lionel Gelber Prize Website:  | Facebook | Twitter  

SOURCE The Lionel Gelber Prize

For further information: Media Contact: June Dickenson,, (905) 541 - 4556

Organization Profile

The Lionel Gelber Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890