La Coop fédérée welcomes a new president and new members to its Board of Directors

La Coop fédérée's 94th Annual General Meeting

MONTREAL, Feb. 26, 2016 /CNW Telbec/ - As part of its 94th annual general meeting on Thursday, February 25, 2016, in Montreal, La Coop fédérée gathered with its Board of Directors to elect its new executive committee. The structure of the committee is as follows:

President: Ghislain Gervais
1st Vice-President: Luc Forget
2nd Vice-President: Muriel Dubois
1st Executive position: Mathieu Couture
2nd Executive position: Benoit Massicotte

La Coop fédérée welcomes a new president to replace Denis Richard, who has occupied this position since 2003.

Mr. Gervais is a poultry and crop producer from Saint-Guillaume and has sat on the Board of Directors since 2011, and since 2014 as First Vice-President.

A new representation of districts
In order to adapt to the evolution of cooperatives within La Coop network, during La Coop fédérée's 2015 annual general meeting, a representation scheme of 12 directors, two from each of the six districts, was adopted. Added to this were two designated positions; one to a female director and one to a male director of cooperatives with a particular vocation or consumption, totaling 14 members.

To complete this transition, all the positions were subject to election this year.

Welcome new directors
Mr. Gervais along with Gaétan Desroches, CEO, wish a warm welcome to the six new directors. The structure of the board of directors is as follows:

District 1: Jean-François Pelletier (Groupe Dynaco) et Adrien Pitre (La Coop Matapédienne)
District 2: Mathieu Couture (La Coop Alliance) et Marc-André Roy (Vivaco groupe coopératif)
District 3: Richard Ferland (La Coop Unicoop) et Patrick Soucy (La Coop Seigneurie)
District 4: Normand Marcil (Nutrinor) et Benoit Massicotte (La Coop Univert)
District 5: Ghislain Gervais (La Coop Agrilait) et Muriel Dubois (La Coop Covilac)
District 6: Luc Forget (La Coop Profid'Or) et François Drainville (La Coop Agrivert)
District 7: Réjean Vermette (Cooperative hog production chain)
District 8: Cathy Fraser (La Coop Univert)

About La Coop fédérée
Founded in 1922, La Coop fédérée is the largest agri-food organization in Québec. It is owned by more than 90,000 members grouped into 72 cooperatives located in several Canadian provinces and is present in the majority of links of the agri-food chain.

As a retailer, La Coop fédérée provides farmers with the necessary goods and services for operating their enterprises. Its activities are separated into three Divisions: Agri-business (livestock and crop production, and grain marketing under the Elite and La Coop banners), Retail & Innovation (energy, hardware and farm machinery, under the Sonic, Unimat, BMR and Agrizone banners) and Meat (under the Olymel, Flamingo and Lafleur banners). La Coop fédérée employs 12,200 people and its sales total $5.992 billion. Including its affiliated cooperatives, La Coop fédérée counts more than 18,350 employees with combined sales of $9.6 billion.


SOURCE La Coop fédérée

Image with caption: "Ghislain Gervais, President of La Coop fédérée (CNW Group/La Coop fédérée)". Image available at:

For further information: Source: Ben Marc Diendéré, Senior Vice-President, Communications, Public Affairs and Branding, @Marc_ben; Information and interview requests: Marie-Hélène Cliche, Communications Manager, Cell: 514 347-5939,


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890