It is Levesque versus Trudeau, while the Globe takes on Macleans. Four
Charles Taylor Prize Authors on stage Friday January 22nd, 7pm

TORONTO, Jan. 22 /CNW/ -


    Taping of a literary discussion between the four short-listed authors of
    this year's Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction and CTV host
    Seamus O'Regan. Public free to attend. RSVP is required. The taping is
    for an upcoming Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction special on


    Friday, January 22, 2010 Doors Open: 7:00 pm. Taping Begins: 7:30 pm


    MASONIC TEMPLE, 888 Yonge St (at Davenport)


    Globe and Mail columnist Ian Brown - The Boy in the Moon: A Father's
    Search For His Disabled Son;

    John English - Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau,

    Daniel Poliquin - Rene Levesque;

    Macleans Magazine publisher Kenneth Whyte - The Uncrowned King: The
    Sensational Rise of William Randolph Hearst


    This is the only no-charge opportunity for the public to hear the
    short-listed authors. The public should rsvp at:
    The Media, Social Media and the Public are welcome to attend/cover.

The Charles Taylor Prize is the country's most prestigious non-fiction award. Since 2000, the Prize has been a major driving force behind the recognition and growth of Canadian non-fiction. Now in its 9th year, the privately-funded prize celebrates Canada's literary voices, recognizing the exceptional authors and journalists who captivate us with their stories, insights, and writing style. More than 125 submissions are competing for a place on the 2010 Shortlist. Originally awarded every two years, since 2005 the Prize has been awarded annually to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style, and a subtlety of thought and perception.

The Prize commemorates the late Charles Taylor, one of Canada's foremost essayists, a foreign correspondent and a prominent member of the Canadian literary community whose dream was to raise the public profile of literary non-fiction.

The Prize consists of $25,000 for the winning author and $2,000 for each runner-up with promotional support for each shortlisted title.

The winner of the 2010 Prize will be announced at a Gala Luncheon and Awards Ceremony on Monday, February 8th. The Prize is presented by the Charles Taylor Foundation with generous support from Bravo!, Ben McNally Books, CTV, CNW Group, Event Source, Windfield Farms Limited, Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, The Globe and Mail, and Quill & Quire. For more information:

SOURCE Charles Taylor Prize

For further information: For further information: Media are requested to confirm their attendance with Stephen Weir & Associates: Stephen Weir: (416) 489-5868, cell: (416) 801-3101,; Linda Crane: (905) 257-6033, cell: (416) 727-0112,

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890