Indspire Announces 2016 Indspire Awards Recipients

Gala to be held in Vancouver on February 12, 2016

TORONTO, Sept. 15, 2015 /CNW/ - Indspire, the largest non-governmental funder of Indigenous education, announced today the names of 14 outstanding Indigenous Canadians who have been selected as recipients of the 2016 Indspire Awards: Celebrating Indigenous Achievement.

The 2016 Indspire Awards recipients are as follows: 

Lifetime Achievement:                                 

Chief Robert Joseph – Gwawaaenuk First Nation – BC


Joseph Boyden – Métis – Ontario

Business & Commerce:                        

Clint Davis – Inuit – Nunatsiavut

Culture, Heritage, & Spirituality:           

Elder Mae Louise Campbell – Ojibwa/Saulteaux – Manitoba

Culture, Heritage, & Spirituality:           

Chief Jim Ochiese – Foothills Ojibway First Nation – Alberta


Jo-Ann Episkenew – Métis – Saskatchewan


Pat Mandy – Mississaugas of the New Credit – Ontario

Law & Justice:                                       

Mark Stevenson – Métis – British Columbia


Michael Kanentakeron Mitchell – Mohawk – Ontario

Public Service:                                      

Leonard George – Tsleil-waututh Nation – British Columbia


Carey Price – Ulkatcho First Nation – British Columbia

Youth – First Nation:                              

Christian Kowalchuk – Big Stone Cree Nation – Alberta

Youth – Inuit:                                 

Laura Arngna'naaq – Baker Lake, Nunavut

Youth – Métis: 

Zondra Roy – Saskatchewan

"The 2016 Indspire Awards recipients personify the successes Indigenous people have achieved and the significant impact we have made in all areas of life in Canada," said Roberta L. Jamieson, President and CEO of Indspire and Executive Producer of the Indspire Awards. "We also salute the future, through our three youth recipients, each of whom serves as a role model, inspiring young Indigenous people across the country."

The 2016 Indspire Awards gala will be held on February 12, 2016 at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre in Vancouver. For tickets, please call 416.987.0250 or 1.855.INDSPIRE (463.7747) x228. Tickets can also be purchased online at or by emailing

The gala ceremony will air at a later date on Global Television and the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN), the returning exclusive broadcast partners.

Indspire gratefully acknowledges the support of CIBC as Presenting Corporate Sponsor and Shell Canada Ltd. as Indigenous Youth Sponsor of the 2016 Indspire Awards.

"CIBC has been proud to be the presenting corporate sponsor of the Indspire Awards since their inception to celebrate the significant contributions of Indigenous people," says Victor Dodig, President and CEO, CIBC. "On behalf of our team at CIBC, congratulations to this year's recipients, who are an inspiration to us all and incredible role models for Indigenous youth."

The Indspire Awards, the highest honour bestowed by Indigenous people on their own achievers, have celebrated the significant contributions of Indigenous people in Canada for 23 years. The Indspire Awards recognize the success of individuals who have the discipline, drive, and determination to set high standards and accomplish their goals. They promote self-esteem and pride for the Indigenous community and provide outstanding role models for Indigenous youth.

The jury for the Indspire Awards is composed of previous Award recipients, representing a range of sectors and regions across the country. From hundreds of nominations, the jury selects ten career achievement award recipients, three youth award recipients (First Nation, Inuit and Métis), and one lifetime achievement recipient. The jury process is based on the highest standards of fairness, honesty, and respect to all of the highly deserving nominees.

2016 Indspire Awards supporters include:

Presenting Corporate Sponsor: CIBC
Lead Partner: Government of Canada
Indigenous Youth Sponsor: Shell Canada Limited
Major Sponsor: Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN), Frog Lake Energy Resources Corp., Shaw Media, Suncor Energy Inc., Syncrude Canada Ltd. and Tucarro Inc. Group of Companies
Official Airline: Air Canada
Pre-gala Reception Sponsor: Teck Resources Limited
Host Hotel: The Westin Bayshore

About Indspire
Indspire is an Indigenous-led registered charity that invests in the education of Indigenous people for the long term benefit of these individuals, their families and communities, and Canada. With the support of its funding partners, Indspire disburses financial awards, delivers programs, and shares resources with the goal of closing the gap in Indigenous education. Through the Indspire Institute, it provides resources to educators, communities, and other stakeholders who are committed to improving kindergarten to grade 12 success for Indigenous youth. Since its inception in 1985, Indspire has awarded $79 million through almost 25,000 bursaries and scholarships to Indigenous students, making it the largest funder of Indigenous education outside the federal government. Each year, the organization presents the Indspire Awards, a gala celebration of the successes achieved by Indigenous people that is broadcast nationally.

SOURCE Indspire

For further information: For media interviews and more information, please contact: Betsy Chaly, VP, Communications & Marketing, 416.987.0260 |

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890