IIROC Members Approve Board of Directors

Board Re-Elects Chair M. Marianne Harris

TORONTO, Sept. 13, 2016 /CNW/ - At the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) held on September 12, 2016, member firms elected and re-elected nine individuals to serve on the IIROC Board of Directors.

Seven Directors were re-elected to serve on the Board for a two-year term:

  • James Donegan, Marianne Harris, Edward Iacobucci, Gerry J. O'Mahoney, Catherine Smith (Independent Directors)
  • Paul Allison, Jean-Paul Bachellerie (Dealer Directors)

Two new Directors were elected to serve on the Board for a two-year term:

  • Luc Paiement (Dealer Director)
  • Thomas Wittman (Marketplace Director)

Based in Montreal, Luc Paiement is Executive Advisor to the President and Chief Executive of the National Bank of Canada. Mr. Paiement was co-Chief Executive Officer of National Bank Financial from September 2006 to July 2016. Thomas Wittman is Executive Vice President of Nasdaq and Global Head of Equities, a division of the company's Global Trading & Market Services business.

Five Directors will continue to serve the second year of their two-year terms:

  • Mike Gagné, Brian Heidecker (Independent Directors)
  • Rita Achrekar, Holly Benson (Dealer Directors)
  • Nicholas Thadaney (Marketplace Director)

On September 13, 2016, the Board re-appointed Marianne Harris as Chair and Mike Gagné as Vice Chair.

As the Board for a pan-Canadian organization, it is important that Directors represent IIROC's diverse stakeholders and can provide different regional perspectives. IIROC's Board is comprised of 15 Directors, including IIROC's President and CEO Andrew Kriegler, with an even number of Independent and Industry Directors. Two of the seven Industry Directors represent marketplaces in Canada and five represent IIROC-regulated dealer member firms of varying sizes and business models based in different parts of the country.

"IIROC continues to benefit from the wealth of experience the Directors bring to our Board," said IIROC President and CEO Andrew Kriegler. "We are grateful for the expertise of a Board representing IIROC's various stakeholders to guide our work in the public interest."

"I would like to acknowledge the contributions and service of former Directors Luc Bachand and Tal Cohen," said Marianne Harris, Chair of IIROC's Board of Directors. "I am pleased with the continuity and stability brought by our dedicated group of Directors and welcome the fresh perspectives of our two new Board members."

More information about IIROC's Board of Directors, its mandate and membership of its committees is available on IIROC's website. IIROC's President and CEO AGM remarks to the Annual Meeting are also available.

IIROC is the national self-regulatory organization which oversees all investment dealers and their trading activity in Canada's debt and equity markets. IIROC sets high quality regulatory and investment industry standards, protects investors and strengthens market integrity while supporting healthy Canadian capital markets. IIROC carries out its regulatory responsibilities through setting and enforcing rules regarding the proficiency, business and financial conduct of dealer firms and their registered employees and through setting and enforcing market integrity rules regarding trading activity on Canadian equity marketplaces.

SOURCE Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) - General News

For further information: June Yee, Manager, Corporate Communications, 416 943-6921, jyee@iiroc.ca; Karen Archer, Manager, Media Relations, 416 865-3046, karcher@iiroc.ca


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890