Health Council of Canada Recognizes Councillors' Service to Canadians

SASKATOON, May 26 /CNW/ - Today at the Spring meeting of the Health Council of Canada, CEO John G. Abbott extended his thanks to the Councillors whose terms conclude next month. These representatives - essentially our board - some of whom have served since 2004, have fulfilled their commitment to keep Canadians informed about the progress of health care renewal in this country as was outlined in the 2003 and 2004 Health Accords.

"Whether serving on our sub-committees, speaking with the media, or sharing the Health Council's findings in their own jurisdictions, these Councillors have been a respected voice and presence in clarifying complex health care issues for all Canadians. Their commitment to the nation has been to assist Canadians and their governments in finding the ways needed to improve quality, enhance access to and support the sustainability of our health care system for this and future generations," said Mr. Abbott. In particular, Mr. Abbott paid tribute to Dr. Jeanne Besner, who guided the Council over the past four years.

Over the summer, a new Chair and team of Councillors under a revised corporate governance structure will assume the helm of the Health Council of Canada. A secretariat based in Toronto continues to support Councillors in reporting on the progress of health care renewal in Canada along with the best health care practices that are working well for Canadians.


The Health Council of Canada, created by the 2003 First Ministers' Accord on Health Care Renewal, is mandated to monitor and report on the progress of health care renewal in Canada. Councillors are appointed by the participating provinces, territories and the Government of Canada. Examples of key Accord themes upon which the Health Council of Canada reports are: Primary Health Care; Aboriginal Health; Prevention, Promotion and Public Health; Pharmaceuticals Management; Health Outcomes Improvement; Health Human Resources; and Wait Times and Access.

For more on the Health Council of Canada and to view new reports and information for 2010-2011, visit

Current Council members, by name and jurisdiction, are as follows:

    Government Representatives             Non-Government Representatives

    Dr. Bruce Beaton - Yukon                Dr. Jeanne F. Besner - Chair
    Mr. Albert Fogarty -                    Dr. M. Ian Bowmer - Vice Chair
    Prince Edward Island                    Mr. Jean-Guy Finn
    Dr. Alex Gillis - Nova Scotia           Dr. Danielle Martin
    Mr. Michel C. Leger - New Brunswick     Mr. George L. Morfitt
    Ms. Lyn McLeod - Ontario                Ms. Verda Petry
    Mr. David Charles Richardson - Nunavut
    Ms. Elizabeth Snider - Northwest
    Dr. Les Vertesi - British Columbia

SOURCE Health Council of Canada

For further information: For further information: Stefany Singh, Communications Co-ordinator, Health Council of Canada, Phone: (416) 480-7093,

Organization Profile

Health Council of Canada

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890