Four leading Canadian directors become the newest Fellows of the Institute of
Corporate Directors

CALGARY, June 3 /CNW/ - The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) officially inaugurated the 2010 ICD Fellows at the 13th Annual ICD Fellowship Awards Gala last night at the Hyatt Regency Calgary.

More than 650 leaders from Canada's business community attended the gala as these four outstanding directors were presented with their Fellowship Award:

    -   Mr. Bill Anderson, F.ICD: Director, TransAlta; Gildan Activewear
        Inc.; MDS Inc.
    -   Mr. Claude Fontaine, Q.C., F.ICD., ICD.D: Director, ProSep; Montreal
        Heart Institute Foundation; Petro-Canada (1987- 2009)
    -   Mr. S. Barry Jackson, F.ICD: Chair, TransCanada; Director, Nexen
        Inc.; WestJet Airlines
    -   Mr. John Thompson, F.ICD: Chair, TD Financial Group; Director,
        Thomson Reuters Corp.; Royal Phillips Electronics

The ICD confers the F.ICD designation annually to a prominent group of men and women who excel in their roles as directors and board chairs.

"The ICD Selection Committee considers very carefully the many deserving candidates nominated to be ICD Fellows based on the distinct characteristics of strong leadership and good governance," says Selection Committee Chair, Dr. William (Bill) Dimma, C.M., O.Ont., LL.D, F.ICD, ICD.D. "On behalf of the ICD, I would like to extend my sincerest congratulations to the 2010 ICD Fellows."

The Fellows were chosen on the basis of the following attributes: personal qualities and leadership abilities; accountability to stakeholders; knowledge, expertise and education; contributions to governance; relationship with CEOs and management; understanding of the boards on which he/she sits; knowledge of the businesses that he/she serves as a director; and quality of contributions outside of the boardroom such as authoring and speaking engagements.

The 2010 Selection Committee includes Mr. Brian MacNeill, C.M., F.ICD (2005), Ms. Mary Mogford, ICD.D, F.ICD (2002), Mr. Robert Parizeau, F.ICD (2006), Ms. Elizabeth Watson, ICD.D and Mr. Victor Young, O.C., F.ICD (2007).

Previous ICD Fellowship inductees include Mr. Paul M. Tellier, C.C., P.C., Q.C., F.ICD (2003), Ms. Donna Soble Kaufman, LL.M, F.ICD, Director, BCE (2001) and Mr. Purdy Crawford, C.C., Q.C., ICD.D, F.ICD, Corporate Director (1999).

    2010 ICD Fellowship Awards Sponsors:

    Inaugural Partner - Chartered Accountants of Canada (CICA)
    National Media Sponsor - The Globe and Mail
    Gala Sponsors - Epcor; Osler; TD; TransAlta; TransCanada
    Dinner Sponsors - Enbridge; Haskayne School of Business; Hugessen;
    Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan; Nexen; Potash Corp.; TMX Toronto Stock
    Distribution Sponsor - CNW Group

About the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)

The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) is a not-for-profit, member-based professional association representing Canadian directors and boards across the for-profit, not-for-profit, and government sectors. With more than 4,000 members and a network of nine chapters, the ICD promotes the professionalism and effectiveness of directors by providing quality director education and professional certification; opportunities for continuous learning and networking through local chapter events; board placement support and resources; and access to timely information on current and emerging governance issues and best practices.

/NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: A photo accompanying this release is available at Images are free to accredited members of the media/

SOURCE Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)

For further information: For further information: Carolyn Thrasher, Manager, Marketing Communications, Institute of Corporate Directors, (416) 593-7741, ext. 229,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890