Former IPC President Dr. Robert Steadward to be Inducted into the Alberta
Order of Excellence

OTTAWA, Oct 7 /CNW/ - The Canadian Paralympic Committee extends congratulations to Dr. Robert Steadward on his induction into the Alberta Order of Excellence. A champion for Paralympic sport, Dr. Steadward has spent over 40 years advocating for the development of sport opportunities for persons with a disability, from a local to international level. Dr. Steadward is a recognized leader within the Paralympic Movement and has held many influential roles including founder and Honourary President of the Steadward Center, as well as Founder and President of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC).

"I am pleased that the Province of Alberta has recognized Dr. Steadward for his incredible role in growing Paralympic sport," said Henry Storgaard, CEO, Canadian Paralympic Committee. "Thanks to Dr. Steadward, more persons with a disability across the world have access to sport than ever before. The legacy of inclusion that he has worked tirelessly to create will benefit generations for years to come and it is wonderful to see him receive such a prestigious honour."

In 1978, Dr. Steadward founded a multi-disability research, lifestyle, and fitness centre for persons with disabilities at the University of Alberta, later named the Steadward Centre in his honour. In 1981, Dr. Steadward founded the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) where he acted as President until 2001. Under his leadership, the IPC grew to over 175 member nations. Dr. Steadward is an accomplished leader, author, and sport scientist.

In a volunteer capacity, Dr. Steadward has been involved in a range of sport competitions including the Commonwealth Games, Universiade World Championships, Olympic Games, and Paralympic Games. He has served on the International Olympic Committee's Commissions for Ethics and Reform, Peace and Truce, and environment. Other careers highlights include his leadership and vision in securing the 2001 World Championships in Athletics in Edmonton, as well as serving as a member of the Board of Governors for the 2005 World Masters Games in Edmonton.

The Alberta Award of Excellence is the highest honour the province can bestow and is given to Albertan leaders and innovators annually in recognition of their positive contributions on the provincial, national and international stage. Dr. Steadward is one of eight inductees selected for the 2010 year. The ceremony will take place on October 20th, 2010.

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee

The Canadian Paralympic Committee ("the CPC") is a non-profit, private organization with 43 member sports organizations dedicated to strengthening the Paralympic Movement. The CPC is responsible for creating an optimal high-performance environment for Canadian Paralympic athletes to win at Paralympic and Parapan American Games.  By supporting Canadian Paralympic athletes and promoting their success, the CPC inspires all Canadians with a physical disability to get involved in sport through programs delivered by its member organizations. For more information, visit href="">

SOURCE Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC)

For further information: For further information:

Marie-Hélène Cayer
Canadian Paralympic Committee
Tel: (613) 293-3358

Organization Profile

Canadian Paralympic Committee (CPC)

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890