Finalists announced for 2015 Canada Post E-commerce Innovation Awards

Sold-out gala to recognize the country's most dynamic online retailers on September 28

TORONTO, Sept. 1, 2015 /CNW/ - Canada Post announced today the finalists for the fourth annual Canada Post E-commerce Innovation Awards. The companies will compete to win a share of more than $1 million in prizing, and the recognition of being named a top leader of e-commerce in Canada.

In its fourth year, the Awards have become a symbol of e-commerce excellence, attracting breakout start-ups to retail giants along with venture capitalists and industry experts. This year, the gala will take place on September 28 in Toronto.

Finalists will compete in categories that recognize the best omni-channel strategies, online shopping experience, and customer engagement initiatives. Five rising stars are also vying to take home the prize for the most exciting start-up. While a new category – the Community Impact Award – recognizes retailers' socially responsible efforts to improve local and/or global communities.  

The finalists are:

Best Omni-channel Retailer, Large:

  • Best Buy Canada
  • Frank & Oak
  • Loblaw Digital
  • Roots Canada Ltd.
  • Toys "R" Us Canada


Best Omni-channel Retailer, Small:

  • Canada Robotix
  • Meeplemart
  • Poppy Barley
  • Tao Tea Leaf Ltd.
  • Yummi Candles


Best Online Shopping Experience, Large:

  • Aritzia
  • Best Buy Canada
  • Frank & Oak
  • Groupe Dynamite Inc.
  • Manitobah Mukluks


Best Online Shopping Experience, Small:

  • BonLook
  • Empire en ligne
  • Kayokoko Swimwear Inc.
  • meowbox
  • Shelfies
  • Yummi Candles


Best Customer Engagement:

  • Aritzia
  • Groupe Dynamite Inc.
  • Nerd Block
  • Ricardo Media
  • Roots Canada Ltd.


Most Exciting Start-up:

  • Gribouille éducatif inc
  • Minitrade
  • Nerd Block
  • Thalmic Labs
  • Top & Derby


Community Impact Award:

  • Dr. Power
  • Live Out There
  • Manitobah Mukluks
  • The Hunger Republic


Two additional awards will also be included. 

  • Consumer Champion Award will go to the finalist who earned the most votes in our online voting poll, which is open to the public starting today.
  • Canada Post E-commerce Innovator's Award: The winner of this Award is chosen by Canada Post, and it will go to a retailer that has made a significant contribution to advancing e-commerce in Canada.


Winners will be chosen by a panel of industry experts: Diane J. Brisebois, President and CEO of the Retail Council of Canada; Sucharita Mulpuru-Kodali, Principal Analyst on Forrester's eBusiness Team; Duncan Payne, Hut2Hut Events President and DX3 Co-founder; Rafe Petkovic, Google Canada Head of Industry (Retail); and Stéphane Ricoul, Sid Lee Director of Client Relations, eBusiness, and eComMTL founding President.

The Canada Post E-commerce Innovation Awards were created in 2012 to fuel Canadian e-commerce growth and recognize Canada's leading and emerging online retailers. The Awards bring together hundreds of the top people in Canadian e-commerce each year to celebrate the dynamic industry's innovation, technology and entrepreneurship. For more information on the Awards, visit


SOURCE Canada Post

For further information: Media relations, 613-734-8888,


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890