FCM elects new president and table officers

TORONTO, May 30 /CNW Telbec/ - Director Hans Cunningham of the Regional District of Central Kootenay, B.C., was today acclaimed president of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) by municipal government delegates attending FCM's 73rd Annual Conference in Toronto.

Director Cunningham was first elected to the board of the Regional District of Central Kootenay as the representative for Area G in 1986 and served as chair for many years. Elected to FCM's British Columbia Regional Committee in 2003, he served as committee chair in 2005, and was first elected to FCM's executive in June 2006. He has been active in civic affairs since 1964.

Director Cunningham is joined on the FCM executive by First Vice-President, Councillor Berry Vrbanovic of Kitchener, Ont; Second Vice-President, Councillor Karen Leibovici of Edmonton, Alta.; and Third Vice-President, Mayor Claude Dauphin of Lachine, Que.

FCM has been the national voice of municipal government since 1901. FCM's more than 1,800 municipal government members include large cities and rural and remote communities, comprising 90 per cent of the Canadian population.

SOURCE Federation of Canadian Municipalities

For further information: For further information: Eric Collard, (613) 607-6395, ecollard@fcm.ca

Organization Profile

Federation of Canadian Municipalities

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890