EPSC Appoints Shelagh Kerr President & CEO

TORONTO, Jan. 6 /CNW/ - The Board of Directors of Electronics Product Stewardship Canada (EPSC) is pleased to announce the appointment of Shelagh Kerr to the position of EPSC President and CEO.

EPSC is a not-for-profit organization and the leading product stewardship voice for information technology and consumer electronics companies.

EPSC's new President, Shelagh Kerr, brings to the position extensive experience in association management, government and public affairs and environmental stewardship.

Shelagh has a BSc from the University of Ottawa and has lived and worked across Canada and internationally in Europe and Africa. She now resides in Toronto.

As Vice President, Corporate and Environmental Affairs for Coca-Cola in the 1990's, Ms. Kerr sat on the Boards of recycling organizations in New Brunswick, Ontario and Alberta as well as the federal Environmental Choice Program.

More recently Shelagh has been working in Europe for Coca-Cola and then the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA).

Shelagh can be reached at: shelagh@epsc.ca

EPSC would like to thank outgoing Interim President, Ralph McMillen of Hewlett-Packard for his leadership and welcome Shelagh to her new position. We are confident that under her direction, EPSC will continue to provide leadership in developing and promoting end of-life electronics stewardship programs across the country.

EPSC is a not-for-profit organization established by Canada's leading electronics manufacturers as well as the Information Technology Association of Canada (ITAC) and Electro-Federation Canada (EFC). Its mandate is to design, promote and implement sustainable industry-led solutions for the appropriate recovery and recycling of electronic waste. Along with partners at the Retail Council of Canada, EPSC was instrumental in establishing industry lead electronics stewardship programs in Nova Scotia, Saskatchewan, Ontario, and British Columbia and their work continues in these and other Canadian jurisdictions.

Current members include: Apple Canada Inc., Brother International Corporation (Canada) Inc., Canon Canada Inc., Dell Canada, Epson, Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Co., IBM Canada Ltd., Lenovo Canada, Lexmark Canada Inc., LG Electronics Canada, Microsoft Corp., Northern Micro Inc., Samsung Electronics Canada Inc., Sony of Canada Ltd., Sun Microsystems of Canada Inc., and Toshiba of Canada Inc.


For further information: For further information: Nathan MacDonald, Director, Environmental Programs, Electronics Product Stewardship Canada, T: (416) 576-4555, E: nathan@epsc.ca, www.epsc.ca

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890