E. Hunter Harrison receives Canadian International Executive of the Year
Award from Canadian Chamber

OTTAWA, Oct. 13 /CNW Telbec/ - Mr. E. Hunter Harrison, president and chief executive officer, CN, will be this year's recipient of the Canadian International Executive of the Year Award presented by the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, Canada's largest business association, on November 19 in Montreal.

"Mr. Harrison was chosen because, under his exemplary leadership, CN has developed a strong and strategically competitive Canadian presence in the United States and around the world," said Perrin Beatty, President and CEO of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce. "It is important that we in Canada recognize and celebrate the international achievements of business executives from Canadian companies."

"I am truly honoured by and grateful for this recognition from the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, said E. Hunter Harrison, president and chief executive officer of CN. CN's success over the years has been the result of much hard work and dedication from our most important asset, our people. It has been a privilege to lead some of North America's finest railroaders and to collaborate with a talented leadership team," he concluded.

Established in 1992, this award is presented each year to recognize a business executive from a Canadian company whose exemplary leadership has allowed their company to develop a strong, competitive Canadian presence in global markets.

The key reason for establishing this award was to boost the often-lacking recognition of Canadian business presence internationally. It was felt that Canadians are too silent on the success of Canadian companies beyond our shores. For a country which is so dependent on international trade and investment, it is vital to recognize the achievements of Canadian business in the global business environment.

The Canadian Chamber of Commerce is the most influential business association in Canada, a national leader in public policy advocacy on business issues with a goal to foster a strong and competitive economic environment that benefits Canada and all Canadians.

Mr. Harrison will be honoured by his friends, colleagues and business associates at a gala evening event in Montreal at the Queen Elizabeth Hotel on November 19, 2009. Previous award winners include: Donald Stewart, Mike Lazaridis and James Balsillie, Tony Comper, Travis Engen, Wallace McCain, Frank Stronach, Charles Baillie, Peter Munk, Robert Gillespie, Ted Newall, Peter Godsoe, Guy Saint-Pierre, L.R. (Red) Wilson, David Morton, Allan R. Taylor, and Laurent Beaudoin.

SOURCE Canadian Chamber of Commerce

For further information: For further information: Kathryn Anderson, Director, Communications and Marketing, Office: (613) 238-4000 ext.231, Cell: (613) 797-1860, kanderson@chamber.ca

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890