David Carr to accept Honorary Tribute on behalf of The New York Times at the 16th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards

TORONTO, June 3, 2013 /CNW/ - David Carr, business columnist and culture reporter for The New York Times, will accept this year's Canadian Journalism Foundation Honorary Tribute on behalf of the Time's editorial team, for the leading role they play in inspiring better journalism the world over. The tribute will take place at the 16th Annual CJF Awards on June 13 at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

The CJF Honorary Tribute typically recognizes a media luminary who has made an impact on the international stage. This will be the first time the Tribute will be paid to an organization.

Carr's "Media Equation" column explores the implications of the changing media landscape. He also writes about film, television, music and theater for the culture pages. Carr is a regular contributor to the Media Decoder blog and does a weekly video series, The Sweet Spot, with Times chief film critic A. O. Scott about the intersection of culture and business. He is one of the subjects of Page One, a documentary about The New York Times that was released in 2011.

Past honourees include Peter Jennings, the late anchor and senior editor of ABC's World News Tonight; Robert MacNeil, news anchor and co-creator of The MacNeil/Lehrer Report; Morley Safer, CBS News correspondent and Graydon Carter, editor of Vanity Fair.

Amanda Lang, senior business correspondent for CBC News and co-anchor of The Lang and O'Leary Exchange, will host this year's Awards.

The annual CJF Awards night is when Canada's top newsmakers meet Canada's top news people. Five hundred of the country's business and media leaders will celebrate excellence in journalism and honour those who have made significant contributions to the profession throughout their careers.

At the Awards, the CJF will present the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Excellence in Journalism Award - in two categories, large media and small media - the Greg Clark Award, the Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award, the William Southam Journalism Fellowships, the Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy and the Martin Wise Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship.

The Canadian Journalism Foundation thanks the following organizations for their support of the awards: BMO Financial Group, Labatt Breweries of Canada, Postmedia Network Inc., Accenture, RBC, Waste Management, Scotiabank, Medtronic, and Dr. F.L.R. (Eric) Jackman. Thank you also to the following organizations for their in-kind support: CBC News, CNW, Porter Airlines, National Post, The Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual awards program; by operating journalism websites, J-Source.ca English and ProjetJ.ca (French), in co-operation with the country's leading journalism schools; by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, government officials, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and research.

SOURCE: Canadian Journalism Foundation

For further information:

Media requests should be directed to:
Wendy Kan, Program Manager
416-955-0394; wkan@cjf-fjc.ca
The Canadian Journalism Foundation
59 Adelaide St. East Suite 500, Toronto, ON M5C 1K6

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890