CPRS Announces the 2010-2011 Board of Directors

CPRS Board Elects Pierrette Leonard APR, FCPRS as National President and Welcomes Two New Board Members

TORONTO, June 22 /CNW/ - The Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) announced the names of the 2010-2011 Board of Directors, on June 13, at the Annual General Meeting in Regina, Sask. Pierrette Leonard APR, FCPRS was elected as National President for the 2010-2011 term and became the Society's 10th woman president. In addition, two newly-elected directors, Mark Giles APR and Reneé McCloskey APR, joined the 12-member board to serve three-year terms.

"It is a huge honour to serve the Society as National President. Since joining CPRS nearly 20 years ago, I have been involved from the ground up and understand fully the sacred trust that comes with holding any position at any level in the Society," says the new president.

Leonard, an Ottawa/Gatineau Society Member, is Senior Advisor for National Partners in the Ottawa office of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute. Giles, another Ottawa/Gatineau Member, is Senior Communications Advisor with the Privy Council Office/Public Safety Canada. McCloskey, a Northern Lights Society Member, is Manager of External Communications with the Regional District of Fraser Fort George.

The 2010-2011 executive officers are:

President - Pierrette Leonard APR, FCPRS, Senior Advisor - National Partners, Canadian Patient Safety Institute (Ottawa/Gatineau)

Vice-President/Treasurer - Richard Truscott APR, Director of Provincial Affairs, Canadian Federation of Independent Business (Calgary)

Vice-President/Corporate Secretary - Martine Dorval APR, FCPRS, Consultant (Montréal)

Director members include:

Robert W. Ellis APR, FCPRS - Saskatchewan Ministry of Energy and resources (Regina)

Lucie-Anne Fabien APR, FCPRS - Ville de Montréal (Montréal)

Mark Giles APR - Privy Council Office/Public Safety Canada (Ottawa/Gatineau)

Sean Kelly APR, FCPRS - Canada - Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum (St. John's)

Reneé McCloskey APR - Regional District of Fraser Fort George (Prince George)

Lynn McGregor APR - World Search Alliance (Toronto)

Derrick Pieters APR, FCPRS - Department of Justice Canada (Edmonton)

Anita Wasiuta APR - BC Transit (Victoria)

Christina Winsor APR - Communications New Brunswick (Fredericton)

Ex-officio members include:

Karen Dalton APR - Canadian Public Relations Society Executive Director

Dr. Terence Flynn APR, FCPRS - DeGroote School of Business - McMaster University (Hamilton) CPRS Past President

About CPRS

Founded in 1948, the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) is a not-for-profit organization whose members are engaged in the practice, management or teaching of public relations and communications. Members work to maintain the highest standards and share a uniquely Canadian experience in public relations. CPRS is a federation of over 1,800 members across 16 Member Societies based in major cities or organized province-wide. For more information, visit our website: www.cprs.ca.

SOURCE Canadian Public Relations Society

For further information: For further information: MEDIA CONTACT: Karen Dalton APR, Executive Director, 416-239-7034, kdalton@cprs.ca

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890