Complete program of World Energy Congress 2010 unveiled - More than 150 top
calibre speakers will gather in Montréal in order to debate the world energy

MONTREAL, Nov. 16 /CNW Telbec/ - The Montréal 2010 World Energy Congress today unveiled the complete program of what is, every three years, the largest international gathering on all energy sources. The theme of WEC Montréal 2010, Responding now to global challenges - Energy in transition for a living planet, provides a framework within which the energy industry's four main challenges will be addressed. Each challenge will be the focus of one of the four days of the Congress: accessibility, availability, acceptability, and accountability.

A crucial moment

The Congress takes place from September 12 to 16, 2010. This is an especially favourable strategic time for new thinking on energy issues. It will be the first international multi-energy gathering subsequent to the UN Conference on Climate Change (COP15) in Copenhagen and will come only a few weeks after the G8/G20 Leaders Summit, which will be held in Canada.

The Congress unveils 25 names from its list of prestigious speakers

Delegations from a number of governments and major international organizations, representatives of the entire international energy industry, as well as eminent researchers and academics will take part in the sessions of the 21st World Energy Congress. More than 150 speakers have been invited to come to Montreal and debate the current world energy situation. Today WEC Montreal 2010 unveiled a preliminary list of 25 of the speakers who have confirmed their attendance at the Congress.

    -   Fatih Birol, Chief Economist, International Energy Agency
    -   Sophie Brochu, President and CEO, Gaz Métro, Canada
    -   Dr. Aris Candris, President and CEO, Westinghouse Electric Company,
        United States
    -   Milton Catelin, Chief Executive, World Coal Institute
    -   Jacynthe Côté, Chief Executive, Rio Tinto Alcan, Canada
    -   Rick George, President and CEO, Suncor Energy, Canada
    -   Jean-Jacques Guilbaud, Secretary-General and Member of the Executive
        Committee, Total, France
    -   Angel Gurria, Secretary-General, OECD
    -   Joseph M. Hogan, Chief Executive Officer, ABB, Switzerland
    -   Zhou Jiping, Senior Vice President, China National Petroleum
        Corporation, China
    -   Younghoon David Kim, Chairman and CEO, Daesung Group, South Korea
    -   Patrick Kron, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Alstom, France
    -   Anne Lauvergeon, Chief Executive Officer, Areva, France
    -   Peter Loscher, President and CEO, Siemens AG, Germany
    -   P. Jacob Maroga, Chief Executive, Eskom Holdings, South Africa
    -   Marcelo Martinez Mosquera, Founder and Former President, Tecpetrol,
    -   Shosuke Mori, President, Federation of Electric Power Companies of
        Japan, Japan
    -   Michael G. Morris, Chairman, President, CEO, American Electric Power,
        United States
    -   Sergey G. Novikov, Head of Federal Tariff Service, Russian Federation
    -   Jamal Saghir, Director, Energy, Transport and Water, World Bank
    -   Paolo Scaroni, Chief Executive Officer, ENI, Italy
    -   Johannes Teyssen, Chairman of the Board of Management, E.ON, Germany
    -   Thierry Vandal, President and CEO, Hydro-Québec, Canada
    -   Daniel Yergin, Chairman, IHS-CERA, United States
    -   Gregory Yurek, Founder, Chairman of the Board, President and Chief
        Executive Officer, American Superconductor Corporation, United States

"I am pleased to see that the Montreal Congress has attracted so much interest from key players in the industry. I feel very strongly that by bringing the most influential stakeholders in the energy industry to Montreal, the Congress will help generate concrete solutions to address increasingly urgent concerns, felt by the public and governments alike, over future energy demand and the ability of supply to meet this demand while complying with new global environmental standards," noted WEC Montreal 2010 Executive Director Stéphane Bertrand.

World Energy Council

The 21st World Energy Congress is organized by the World Energy Council (WEC), which is headquartered in London. It is a UK registered charity that was founded in 1923, and is accredited by the United Nations (UN). It represents all players in the energy industry and has Member Committees in nearly 100 countries. Its mission is to promote the sustainable supply and use of energy for the greatest benefit of all people.

After being hosted by several cities (Madrid, Tokyo, Houston, Buenos Aires, Sydney and Rome), the World Energy Congress returns to Montreal in September 2010, for the second time: the city hosted the 14th edition of the World Energy Congress in 1989.

WEC Montréal 2010 sponsors

WEC Montréal 2010 enjoys the support of a large number of companies and organizations. Hydro-Québec and the Energy Council of Canada are WEC Montréal 2010 hosts. The governments of Québec and Canada and Rio Tinto Alcan are associated with the event as principal sponsors. Several other partners have also agreed to contribute to the success of the Congress, including ABB, CAPP, EDF, SNC Lavalin, Eni, Ernst & Young, GDF Suez, RSW, KPMG, Siemens, Total, Gaz Métro, AECOM, Hatch, PricewaterhouseCoopers, SAP, Suncor Energy, Tourisme Québec, Ultramar/Valero, Enbridge, Encana, Financial Times, La Presse, Oil & Gas Journal, Power Engineering, PEI, Renewable Energy World, SAQ and Star Alliance.

Close to 3500 participants from more than 100 countries are expected at the Montréal Congress. The complete Congress program is available at


For further information: For further information: Chantal Dufresne, Head of Public Relations and Media Relations, +1 514-397-1917,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890