Carnegie Medals Awarded To 24 In U.S., Canada For Acts Of Extraordinary Civilian Heroism

PITTSBURGH, March 23, 2016 /CNW/ -- In its first award announcement of 2016, the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission said today that 24 people throughout the United States and Canada will each be awarded the Carnegie Medal in recognition of their acts of civilian heroism. The medal is given to those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or attempting to save the lives of others. Three of the awardees died in the performance of their heroic acts.

The heroes announced today bring to 9,845 the total number of awards made since the Pittsburgh-based Fund's inception in 1904. Commission Chair Mark Laskow stated that each of the awardees or their survivors will also receive a financial grant. Throughout the 112 years since the Fund was established by industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, $38 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance. The awardees are:

Jeffery A. Houlemard                         

Hesperia, Calif.  

Glenda Clement Beech, deceased       

Borger, Texas

Larry J. Koos                                      

La Motte, Iowa

Richard G. Williams                           

Stratford, Conn.

Anthony F. DellaMonica, Jr.               

Madison, Conn.

John D'Alonzo                                               

Glenolden, Pa.

Glenn L. Graham, deceased               

Detroit, Mich.

Adam James Tarnowski                                  

Onoway, Alta.

Christopher Mark Rickman, deceased

Brooklyn Park, Md.

Levi Parker Teuton                             

Myakka City, Fla.

John W. Gallie                                    

Toronto, Ont.

Craig Alexander Morash                     

Goodwood, N.S.

Stephen Ross                                      

Halifax, N.S.

Keiren J. Tompkins                            

Halifax, N.S.

Patrick Smith                                      

Pembroke, Ont.

Gary Spurling                                     

Bellingham, Wash.

Frederick Wetzel                                 

Dexter, Ore.

Daniel Patrick Greene                         

Uxbridge, Ont.

Ronaldo J. Freitas                               

Somerville, Mass.

Gary E. Richie                                    

Cocoa, Fla.

Jacob Daniel Richie                            

Palm Bay, Fla.

Brady Olson                                       

Lacey, Wash.

Kirk P. Yankasky                               

Glendale, Ariz.

Jonathan T. Yankasky                        

Glendale, Ariz.

Resumes of the acts can be found at Fuller information on the Carnegie Medal and the history of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission can be found at  Find us on Facebook:                     

Contact:  Douglas R. Chambers
Toll free:  1-800-447-8900

SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

Organization Profile

Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890