Canadian Mortgage industry announces launch of prestigious industry-wide awards

TORONTO, May 31, 2017 /CNW/ - On behalf of all industry participants involved, we are extremely pleased to announce the launch of the Mortgage Awards of Excellence celebrating leadership, achievement and the pursuit of distinction in Canada's mortgage industry. These awards represent a collaborative industry initiative created to exemplify the spirit and inclusiveness of mortgage professionals from across the country.

The mortgage industry is a strong pillar of the Canadian economy and these new awards will be the hallmark of achievement for individuals in all sectors. The Mortgage Awards of Excellence are designed for the industry, by the industry. Although the various mortgage associations have provided strong support and collaboration, this is not an association event. It is an event brought to you by the industry at large.

"It is absolutely wonderful to see a complete alignment from various industry leaders and stakeholders. The Mortgage Awards of Excellence Committee is comprised of mortgage brokerages, networks, lenders, mortgage insurers, associations, and technology organizations, all of which have set aside the competitive forces of their day to day businesses to work in partnership," said Albert Collu, Chair of the Mortgage Awards of Excellence Committee.

"I am honoured to Chair this fantastic initiative. The industry committee and I are extremely excited about these awards. They represent the pinnacle of professional achievement in our industry and allow individuals the opportunity to recognize the contributions, commitment and excellence of their colleagues," added Collu.

It is with this in mind that the committee will focus  on: 1) establishing an awards nomination and selection process which maintains objectivity and integrity and 2) operating as a not for profit event (net proceeds will be reinvested in the event to reduce future costs and/or donated to charitable organizations).

The Mortgage Awards of Excellence Committee is comprised of the following individuals and organizations who have played an integral role in the creation of these awards:

Albert Collu, Verico Financial Group Inc., Chair of Mortgage Awards of Excellence
Michael Beckette, Mortgage Alliance, Chair of Awards Committee
Vince Agozzino, Paradigm Quest, Co-Chair of Awards Committee 
Samir Asusa, Mortgage Professionals Canada
Boris Bozic, Merix Financial
Michael Cameron, Axiom Mortgage
Sam Carnovale, CMHC 
Alfonso Casciato, Street Capital Financial 
Ron Cuadra, Home Trust
Dong Lee, Mortgage Architects
Mary Putnam, Canada Guaranty
Tim Rye, Davis and Henderson
Marc Shendale, Genworth
Cameron Strong, Invis/MI
Elaine Taylor, MCAP
Dave Trithart, Alberta Mortgage Brokers Association

Sub-Committee Members

Claude Girard, Laurentian Bank
Scott Peckford, I Love Mortgage Brokering
Amanda Roy, Alberta Mortgage Broker Association 
Cara Shulman, Mortgage Professionals Canada 
Hali Strandlund-Noble, WIMI
Dave Teixeira, Dominion Lending Centres

Honourees will be announced during the awards ceremony on May 3, 2018. Additional information will be available in the coming weeks.



SOURCE Mortgage Awards of Excellence Committee

For further information: If you would like to participate on a sub-committee or you would like more information, please contact: Albert Collu, Chair, Mortgage Awards of Excellence, Email:,

Organization Profile

Mortgage Awards of Excellence Committee

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890