Canadian Delegation to Accompany Governor General on State Visit to the Kingdom of Sweden

OTTAWA, Feb. 16, 2017 /CNW/ - Their Excellencies the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, and Mrs. Sharon Johnston will conduct a State visit to the Kingdom of Sweden from February 19 to 23, 2017.  

Parliamentarians and Canadian leaders from academia, innovation, trade and civil society will enhance relations with their counterparts from Sweden. These exchanges will further strengthen Canada's ties with Sweden, with a particular focus on innovation, trade, and inclusive and sustainable societies.

OFFICIAL Delegation

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Science

The Honourable Larry Bagnell, P.C., M.P.
Member of Parliament for Yukon

The Honourable Thomas Mulcair, P.C., M.P.
Leader of the New Democratic Party of Canada

Mr. Bruce Stanton, M.P.
Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons

Ms. Heather Grant
Ambassador of Canada to the Kingdom of Sweden

Ms. Alexandra Bugailiskis
Assistant Deputy Minister, Europe, Middle East and Maghreb, Global Affairs Canada

Mr. Roy Norton
Chief of Protocol of Canada

Ms. Patricia Jaton
Deputy Secretary to the Governor General of Canada

Accompanying Delegation

The Honourable Perrin Beatty, P.C.
President and Chief Executive Officer, The Canadian Chamber of Commerce

His Worship Naheed K. Nenshi
Mayor, City of Calgary

Mr. Daniel Alfredsson, M.S.C.
Senior Advisor, Ottawa Senators Hockey Club        

Dr. Sophie d'Amours
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Université Laval and
Canada Research Chair in Planning Sustainable Forest Value Networks

Ms. Nadia Duguay
Co-founder, Exeko, and Member, Executive Committee, CCUNESCO

Ms. Alia Hogben, C.M.
Executive Director, Canadian Council of Muslim Women

Dr. Art McDonald, C.C., O.Ont., O.N.S.
Professor Emeritus, Queen's University and 2015 Physics Nobel Laureate

Ms. Joy Nott
President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Association of Importers and Exporters

Ms. Maatalii Okalik
President, National Inuit Youth Council, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)

Ms. Karen Oldfield
President and Chief Executive Officer, Halifax Port Authority

Mr. Iain Stewart
President, National Research Council of Canada

The biographies of the accompanying delegation will be available online at

Members of the public can follow the Governor General's State visit to the Kingdom of Sweden online at where speeches, photos and videos will be posted.

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter.


SOURCE Governor General of Canada

For further information: Media information: Marie-Ève Létourneau, Rideau Hall Press Office, 613-998-0287,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890