Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health Announces Recipients of
the Seventh Annual Champions of Mental Health Awards

OTTAWA, Oct. 7 /CNW/ - The Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH) today announced the recipients of the Seventh Annual Champions of Mental Health Awards. The awards will be presented to eight distinguished leaders in the Ballroom of the Chateau Laurier this evening. The Awards are part of Mental Illness Awareness Week (MIAW) a national public education campaign to reduce the stigma of mental illness in Canada. MIAW takes place October 4th-10th 2009 and is coordinated by the Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH).

"Today we honour eight special Canadians who have made a significant contribution to advancing the mental health agenda in Canada," said Dr. John Higgenbottam, Co-Chair of CAMIMH. "In their work and in their lives, they have each taken on some of the many challenges we face in the mental health arena. They have spoken openly about their own experiences, have advocated for much-needed research, and have supported programs encouraging diagnosis, treatment and care for the mentally ill in our communities."

    This year's Champions of Mental Health are:

    -   The Hon. Peter MacKay, P.C., M.P., Minister of National Defence -
        Public Sector

        The award recognizes the department's funding and support of mental
        health initiatives within the Canadian Forces (CF), and Minister
        MacKay's personal comments concerning mental health and mental
        illness issues among Canadian Forces members, many of which are on
        the public record. Minister MacKay's commitments have led to the
        hiring of additional mental health practitioners for the military,
        the creation of several support centres across the country as well as
        the launch of the CF Mental Health Awareness Campaign "Be the

    -   Gen. Walter Natynczyk, Canadian Chief of Defence Staff - Public

        The award recognizes Gen. Natynczyk's leadership in launching the CF
        Mental Health Awareness Campaign "Be the Difference". His commitments
        have helped reduce the stigma associated with mental illness in the
        military and encouraged soldiers with mental health issues,
        specifically operational stress injuries, to come forward and seek

    -   LCol. Stéphane Grenier, Director of Casualty Support Management at
        National Defence - Public Sector

        The award recognizes the work of LCol. Grenier and his department on
        the Operational Stress Injury Social Support Program (OSISS). This
        program is designed to reduce pervasive stigma and improve social
        support for CF members, veterans and their families affected by
        operational stress injuries. LCol. Grenier's commitment to this
        program has helped increased awareness of mental health services
        available to soldiers.

    -   The Hon. Dr. Maggie Hodgson - First Nations, Inuit and Métis

        The award recognizes Dr. Hodgson's extensive involvement in
        Aboriginal health initiatives in Canada. As the Founder and Executive
        Director of the Nechi Institute on Alcohol and Drug Education, Dr.
        Hodgson has been the driving force behind many Aboriginal health
        initiatives including mental health and addictions, family violence,
        sexual abuse, and residential schools. She is one of the main
        supporters of mental illness, addiction and support programs in the
        Aboriginal community.

    -   Margaret Trudeau - Media

        The award recognizes Ms. Trudeau's courageous decision to share her
        experiences of living with bipolar disorder. Ms. Trudeau's actions
        and advocacy have deepened the awareness of mental illness across the
        country, and have inspired others living with mental illness to speak
        out and to seek help when they need it.

    -   Dr. Donald A. Wasylenki - Research

        The award recognizes Dr. Wasylenki's extensive involvement in mental
        health research in Canada. He has provided exceptional leadership to
        the Keenan Research Centre of the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of
        St. Michael's Hospital through supporting the development of
        innovative programs and treatments for the organization and delivery
        of mental health services.

    -   Mary Ann Baynton, Program Director, Great West Life Centre for Mental
        Health in the Workplace - Private Sector

        The award recognizes Ms. Bayton's commitment to increase education
        and understanding of mental illnesses in the workplace through the
        Great West Life Centre for Mental Health in the Workplace. Her
        advocacy has mobilized employers to take action on mental health
        issues, and her outstanding leadership has promoted awareness of the
        prevalence of mental illness across the country.

    -   Laurie Hall, Executive Director, A-Way Express - Community

        The award recognizes Ms. Hall's extensive involvement in the mental
        health community through A-WAY Express, a not-for-profit courier
        service that provides jobs for people who live with mental health
        issues. Ms. Hall has provided a supportive environment and
        exceptional leadership in consumer-survivor initiatives and is a
        driving force behind the reducing the stigma of mental illness.

    About MIAW Sponsors

Mental Illness Awareness Week and the Champions of Mental Health Awards cannot take place without the support of dedicated sponsors. They are: Canada Post, Fleishman-Hillard Canada (PLATINUM); Lamar Transit Advertising, AstraZeneca, Rogers TV (SILVER); Janssen-Ortho Inc., Lilly, Pfizer, GlaxoSmithKline, Rx&D, Lundbeck, Apache Canada Ltd. (BRONZE); Iris the Dragon (FRIENDS).

For more information on Mental Illness Awareness Week, please visit

SOURCE Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health

For further information: For further information: regarding the Champions Awards, please contact: Janessa Bishop, Fleishman-Hillard Canada,, (416) 277-7826

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890