Call for Nominations for the 37th Canadian Sport Awards

Canada's Top Sporting Honours (2009)

OTTAWA, Nov. 23 /CNW Telbec/ - The True Sport Foundation today announced its call for nominations for the 37th Canadian Sport Awards (CSA). Canada's definitive recognition event for sport will award excellence, athletics, commitment and leadership in sport during the 2009 calendar year.

The nomination period begins today and closes on Friday, January 15, 2010.

Official nomination forms can be downloaded from for:

    -  Junior Athlete of the Year
    -  Corporate Excellence Award
    -  Leadership in Sport Award
    -  Volunteer Achievement Award
    -  Athlete Leadership Award
    -  (the popular) Spirit of Sport Story of the Year

The Athlete Performance Awards (Male/Female, Team and Partners of the Year) will be seeded by the Top 8 results published by Sport Canada.

"Canada's official awards event for amateur competitors, sport leaders and inspiring stories has recognized athletes, teams, leaders and businesses for more than three decades," said Victor Lachance, Executive Director of the True Sport Foundation. "We encourage Canadian sport organizations, media and the general public to nominate their sporting heroes for their passion, expertise and contribution to Canadian sport," said Mr. Lachance.

Finalists for each CSA award will be announced on February 3, 2010. Winners will be announced and awarded at the official gala awards ceremony in Toronto, Ontario early March 2010.

Established in 1972, the Canadian Sport Awards brings together leaders from the sporting and corporate communities who represent the pinnacle of commitment and competition: Canadian amateur athletes, coaches, sport leaders and volunteers. The annual event promotes sporting excellence across Canada, and reminds Canadians how sport lifts the human spirit. It is a tribute to the hard work, the dedication and the victories of our country's finest athletes.

Nomination Eligibility

Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from January 1, 2009 through to December 31, 2009.

Submissions must be received at the True Sport Foundation no later than 5:00 p.m. E.S.T., Friday January 15, 2010. Late submissions will not be accepted. Completed ORIGINAL submissions should be sent to:

    True Sport Foundation
    CSA Selection Advisory Committee
    350-955 Green Valley Crescent
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada  K2C 3V4

    36TH CANADIAN SPORT AWARDS (Categories and Winners in 2008):

    The Canadian Sport Award categories are listed below, followed by a list
of athletes, teams and corporations honoured in 2008:

    The Athletic Performance Awards recognize outstanding athletic
performance. Winners include:

    Male Athlete of the Year: Eric Lamaze - Equestrian

    Female Athlete of the Year: Chantal Petitclerc - Athletics

    Junior Athlete of the Year: Sarah Reid - Skeleton

    Team of the Year: Curling: Men's (K. Martin)

    Partners of the Year: Rowing: M Eights (M8+)

    The Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate an individual's outstanding
contribution to the betterment of sport. Winners include:

    Leadership in Sport Award: Jane Roos

    Volunteer Achievement: Alain Maillé

    The Corporate Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates a corporation who
provides outstanding support to Canadian sport. The winner is: Mitsubishi
Motor Sales of Canada Inc.

    The Spirit of Sport Story of the Year category recognizes and celebrates
Canadian heroes who, in the pursuit of sporting excellence, have demonstrated
values such as fairness, inclusion, perseverance, sportsmanship, respect for
others, and a true love of sport. The winner is:

    Kyle Shewfelt

About the True Sport Foundation

The True Sport Foundation is a charitable organization committed to ensuring that sport makes a positive contribution to Canadian society. Managed by the Foundation, the Canadian Sport Awards boasts a strong relationship with its modern day founding partners, which include Athletes CAN, the Commonwealth Games Association of Canada, the Canada Games and the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport. For more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit

For complete nomination rules and guidelines, and more information about the Canadian Sport Awards, please visit

SOURCE Canadian Sport Awards

For further information: For further information: Robin Turnbull, Canadian Sport Awards, Program Director, (416) 604-0310,; Victor Lachance, Executive Director, True Sport Foundation, (613) 521-3340 x 3224,

Organization Profile

Canadian Sport Awards

More on this organization

True Sport Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890