Call for Entries Now Open for the Inaugural Digital Publishing Awards

TORONTO, Jan. 7, 2016 /CNW/ - The National Magazine Awards Foundation (NMAF) is pleased to announce the Call for Entries for the introductory Digital Publishing Awards, a bilingual national program recognizing excellence in Canadian digital content and creation.

Submissions for work published in 2015 are now accepted until February 16, 2016. The Early-Bird deadline for submissions is February 8. Visit for details on rules, categories, deadlines and fees.

This new awards program will provide a platform to promote and reward the achievements of those who create digital publishing content in Canada—the writers and editors, designers and developers, video and podcast producers, photographers and illustrators, and others.

Digital publishers with established brands in magazine, newspaper, broadcast and other journalism, as well as publishers that serve their audiences exclusively on digital platforms will be eligible to enter, including those that publish in either English or French.

For the inaugural year, creators and publishers will have the opportunity to have their work recognized at the national level in fourteen awards categories, including:

  • Best Digital Editorial Package,
  • Best Blog or Online-Only Column,
  • Best News Coverage of a Single Topic or Event,
  • Best Online-Only Short Feature,
  • Best Online-Only Long Feature,
  • Best Online Video,
  • Best Multimedia Storytelling in a Single Feature,
  • Best Use of Data,
  • Best Podcast Series,
  • Best Visual Storytelling,
  • Best Digital Design,
  • Best Use of Multiple Platforms,
  • Best Digital Initiative
  • Digital Publication of the Year

Finalists will be announced on May 4, 2016 and winners unveiled at the inaugural awards soirée, which will take place on June 9, 2016 in Toronto.

About the DPAs

The Digital Publishing Awards are produced by the National Magazine Awards Foundation, a not-for-profit, registered charity that has administered Canada's annual National Magazine Awards since 1977. With a reputation for facilitating a rigorous, fair and transparent awards program in which content creators are recognized and rewarded for outstanding achievement in magazine journalism, the NMAF is proud to present the Digital Publishing Awards in consultation with Canada's leading producers and creators of digital publishing.

Follow the Digital Publishing Awards on Twitter @DPAwards.

SOURCE National Magazine Awards Foundation

Image with caption: "Call for Entries Now Open for The Digital Publishing Awards (CNW Group/National Magazine Awards Foundation)". Image available at:

For further information:


Organization Profile

National Magazine Awards Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890