Call for entries: Greg Clark Award offers in-depth opportunity for early-career journalist

TORONTO, Jan. 26, 2017 /CNW/ - Early-career journalists who could benefit from a week exploring their beat in greater depth are encouraged to apply for The Canadian Journalism Foundation's Greg Clark Award. The deadline for applications is Feb. 24, 2017.

The successful applicant will receive $5,000 toward travel expenses, accommodation costs and related incidentals, with any unused funds to be converted into a stipend.

Last year's winner was Jayme Poisson, an investigative reporter with the Toronto Star, who used the opportunity to better understand access-to-information laws, spending time with the federal and Ontario offices that deal with such requests. Her award proposal offered to decipher a process that few journalists understand and to share her knowledge after the experience. Read about what Poisson learned from her award experience.

"Since I first started filing requests, I have been denied information that seems to fit within the very definition of the public interest," says Poisson. "I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to learn more about Canada's access-to-information laws and now feel more confident filing and managing requests. I also have a deeper understanding of the kind of reforms that would greatly improve Canadians' ability to access government-held records."

Other award winners in recent years include Laura Stone, who visited Ottawa to understand how the RCMP deals with sensitive files; Katie May, who visited Rankin Inlet, Nunavut to delve into issues surrounding maternal healthcare delivery in a northern community and Tamara Baluja, who flew to Haida Gwaii, B.C. to explore culturally-responsive education.

The Greg Clark Award is unique in Canadian journalism, designed to offer working journalists a chance to gain insight and meet key decision-makers on their beats. The successful applicant gets an opportunity to spend up to a week observing the inner workings of an organization not usually accessible to journalists. All arrangements for the award assignment will be made in consultation with the winner.

The award was created in memory of Greg Clark, one of Canada's greatest journalists—a war correspondent, avid outdoorsman and humorist, but above all a great reporter who excelled at storytelling.

The winner will be honoured at the CJF Awards at The Fairmont Royal York in Toronto on June 8, 2017. Early bird rates for tickets and tables are available until March 31, 2017. This award is generously supported by Shaw Communications and Toronto Star.

If you know early-career journalists who could benefit from this opportunity, please encourage them to apply.

Visit our website for full details. Apply now with our online application form.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation
Established in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement. Our signature events include an annual awards program featuring a must-attend industry gala where Canada's top newsmakers meet Canada's top news people. Through J-Talks, our popular speakers' series, we facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society and the ongoing challenges for media in the digital era. The foundation also supports journalism websites (English) and (French) and fosters opportunities for journalism education, training and research.

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

To view this news release in HTML formatting, please use the following URL:

For further information: Wendy Kan, Program Manager, Canadian Journalism Foundation, 595 Bay Street, Suite 401, Toronto, ON, M5G 2C2,, 416-955-0975


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890