CADTH Honours Health Care Leaders

OTTAWA, April 13, 2016 /CNW/ - Yesterday, CADTH honoured two Canadian health care leaders with awards for their contributions to the field of health technology assessment (HTA).

Dr. Tom Noseworthy, Professor of Health Policy and Management, Department of Community Health Sciences and the O'Brien Institute for Public Health, University of Calgary, received the 2016 Dr. Jill M. Sanders Award of Excellence in Health Technology Assessment. He was recognized for his instrumental role in developing HTA through various leadership positions in the health sector, academia, and health policy.

Dr. Nick Bansback, Assistant Professor in the School of Population and Public Health, University of British Columbia, and Scientist with the Centre for Health Evaluation & Outcome Sciences (CHÉOS), was presented with the Maurice McGregor Award for his leadership in health economics and decision theory. He has published widely in the use of preference-based instruments, conducted numerous economic evaluations in rheumatology, and is currently focusing his research on improving decision-making in patient/physician consultations using decision support tools.

"Without a doubt, HTA is improving health care by making it easier for clinicians, patients, and other key stakeholders to integrate evidence into their decision-making," said Dr. Brian O'Rourke, President and CEO of CADTH. "The commitment and substantial contributions of Dr. Noseworthy and Dr. Bansback are helping to make this happen. On behalf of CADTH and the HTA community, I extend my sincerest congratulations to our award winners."

The awards were presented at a luncheon in Ottawa as part of the annual CADTH Symposium (April 10 to 12, 2016). The CADTH Symposium brings together key producers and users of HTA — as well as leaders from health economics, government, universities, clinical practice, the pharmaceutical industry, and patient groups — to discuss some of the most pressing issues facing Canadian health care today.

To learn more about the award winners and the Symposium, visit

About the Awards
The Dr. Jill M. Sanders Award was created as a tribute to the former President and CEO of CADTH and honours those who have been active in the field of HTA for more than 10 years. The Maurice McGregor Award recognizes rising stars in HTA early in their careers and is named in honour of Dr. Maurice McGregor, Professor Emeritus of McGill University, who is affectionately referred to as "the grandfather of HTA in Canada."

CADTH is an independent, not-for-profit organization responsible for providing Canada's health care decision-makers with objective evidence to help make informed decisions about the optimal use of drugs and medical devices in our health care system (


SOURCE Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)

Image with caption: "Dr. Nick Bansback receives the Maurice McGregor Award at the 2016 CADTH Symposium from Dr. Brian O'Rourke, President and CEO, CADTH. (CNW Group/Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH))". Image available at:

Image with caption: "Dr. Tom Noseworthy receives the Dr. Jill M. Sanders Award of Excellence in Health Technology Assessment at the 2016 CADTH Symposium from Dr. Terrence Sullivan, CADTH Board Chair. (CNW Group/Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH))". Image available at:

For further information: or to arrange an interview with the 2016 award recipients, please contact: Emilie Adams, Communications Officer, CADTH, 613 226 2553, ext. 1518,


Organization Profile

Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890