Best of legal professions to be recognized with Law Society awards

TORONTO, March 9, 2015 /CNW/ - The Law Society of Upper Canada will honour 11 outstanding members of the legal profession at its annual award ceremony.

The Law Society Medal, the Lincoln Alexander Award, the Laura Legge Award and the William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award will be presented at Osgoode Hall on May 27, 2015.

"The Law Society looks forward to honouring these 11 exceptional legal professionals whose careers represent the highest level of achievement and commitment to serving the public and the professions," said Law Society Treasurer Janet Minor.

The 2015 Law Society Medal recipients are:

  • Craig R. Carter, CS
  • Prof. Adam M. Dodek
  • Susan Eng
  • Faisal Joseph
  • John B. Laskin
  • H. J. Stewart Lavigueur
  • E. Patrick Shea, CS
  • Chantal Tie

Established in 1985, the Law Society Medal is given to outstanding lawyers in Ontario in recognition of exceptional service, whether in a particular area of practice, in the academic sphere, or in some other professional capacity, where the service is in accordance with the highest ideals of the legal profession over a long term or for a single outstanding act of service.

The 2015 Lincoln Alexander Award recipient is Paul Le Vay.

The Lincoln Alexander Award was created in 2002 in honour of former Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, Member of Parliament, and 2002 Law Society Medal recipient, the late Lincoln M. Alexander, PC, CC, OOnt., CD, QC, LSM, in recognition of his dedication to the people of Ontario and the legal community. The award is presented to an Ontario lawyer who has demonstrated long-standing interest and commitment to the public and its well-being through community service.

The 2015 Laura Legge Award recipient is Kimberly Murray.

The Laura Legge Award was established in 2007 and is presented in honour of the late Laura Legge, OOnt., QC, the first woman elected a bencher of the Law Society and the first woman ever to serve as Treasurer. The award is presented to a woman lawyer in Ontario who has exemplified leadership within the profession.

The 2015 William J. Simpson Distinguished Paralegal Award recipient is W. Paul Dray.

The Law Society Distinguished Paralegal Award was created in 2011 and renamed in 2014 to honour William J. Simpson and his outstanding contribution to the implementation of paralegal regulation by the Law Society. The award recognizes a paralegal who has demonstrated one or more of the following attributes: outstanding professional achievement, contribution to the development of the profession, devotion to professional duties, adherence to best practices and mentoring of others in best practices, a history of community service and personal character that brings credit to the paralegal profession.

Brief biographies of the 2015 award recipients are attached.

The Law Society regulates lawyers and paralegals in Ontario in the public interest. The Law Society has a mandate to protect the public interest, to maintain and advance the cause of justice and the rule of law, to facilitate access to justice for the people of Ontario and act in a timely, open and efficient manner.

SOURCE The Law Society of Upper Canada

PDF available at:

For further information: please contact Lisa Hall, Manager, Communications & Marketing,, or 416-947-7625; The Law Society of Upper Canada, Osgoode Hall, 130 Queen Street West, Toronto, ON, M5H 2N6


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890