Ballard Announces Election of Directors

VANCOUVER, June 4, 2013 /CNW/ - Ballard Power Systems (NASDAQ: BLDP)(TSX: BLD) today announced that all of the nominees listed in the Management Proxy Circular dated April 10, 2013 were elected as directors of Ballard Power Systems at the company's Annual General Meeting today in Burnaby, British Columbia.

Each of the directors was elected or re-elected by a majority of the votes cast by shareholders present or represented by proxy. The results of the vote are detailed below.

Nominee       Votes For       % For       Votes Withheld       % Withheld
Ian A. Bourne        15,751,392       94.73       875,996       5.27
Douglas P. Hayhurst       15,682,736       94.32       944,652       5.68
Edwin J. Kilroy       15,725,819       94.58       901,569       5.42
John W. Sheridan       14,508,099       87.25       2,119,289       12.75
Carol M. Stephenson       15,746,372       94.70       881,016       5.30
David B. Sutcliffe       15,725,669       94.58       901,719       5.42
Ian Sutcliffe       15,731,069       94.61       896,319       5.39

Director biographies are available in the Corporate Leadership section of the company's website. Final voting results on all matters voted on at the Annual General Meeting held on June 4, 2013 will be filed on SEDAR (

About Ballard Power Systems
Ballard Power Systems (NASDAQ: BLDP)(TSX: BLD) provides clean energy fuel cell products enabling optimized power systems for a range of applications. Products deliver incomparable performance, durability and versatility. To learn more about Ballard, please visit

SOURCE: Ballard Power Systems Inc.

For further information:

Guy McAree, +1.604.412.7919, or

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890