Awards Ceremony to Highlight Unique Fire Safety Contributions

TORONTO, June 12, 2013 /CNW/ - Twenty-nine Fire Safety Awards were handed out by the Fire Marshal's Public Fire Safety Council today.  The ceremony is part of an annual awards program to recognize outstanding contributions to fire safety in Ontario by individuals and organizations.  Also on hand to honour the recipients were Madeleine Meilleur, Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services and Paul Beeston, President and CEO of the Toronto Blue Jays.

"Each one of the Fire Safety Awards recipients has made Ontario a safer place to live," said Tadeusz (Ted) Wieclawek, Ontario Fire Marshal and Chair, Fire Marshal's Public Fire Safety Council.  "Given the diverse group of recipients and the geographical distance between them, the awards ceremony is a way to come together, share their stories and recognize each recipient's unique contributions."

The names of the recipients include:
Amanda Wilkins, age 16, Springwater
Carol Heller, Kidde Canada Inc., Toronto
Children's Aid Society of Ottawa
Darlene Bryans, McDonald's Oakville
Domino's Pizza Barrie
Fairchild Radio Toronto
Family and Children's Services of Lanark, Leeds and Grenville
Grey Bruce Insurance Brokers Association
Home Depot Midland Store #7247
Larry Gordon, Blackburn Radio, Sarnia
Low Income People Involvement of Nipissing, North Bay
Maxwell Heights Secondary School, Oshawa
Moya Dillon, The Pickering News Advertiser
Peel Mutual Insurance Company
Queen's University Department of Residence Life, Kingston
Robin Burns, McDonald's Oshawa
Rogers TV London
Royal Canadian Legion Branch 302 - Gravenhurst
Russell Lions Club
Shylo Craig, CTV Northern Ontario
The Advance, Grey County
Tommy Johnson, Shaw Cable, Dryden
TVOKids Gisèle's Big Back Yard, Toronto
Listowel Banner (Bill Huether, Shannon Duff and Andrew Smith), Listowel
Waterloo North Hydro Inc.
Western University, London
102 FM The Fox, North Bay

The Fire Marshal's Public Fire Safety Council gratefully acknowledges the support of its sponsors in this event: Technical Standards and Safety Authority, The Co-operators Group, Kidde Canada Inc., Home Depot of Canada Inc., Proctor & Gamble Inc., Electrical Safety Authority, CSA Group, Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc., Roxul Inc., Union Gas and Underwriters' Laboratories of Canada.

SOURCE: Office of the Fire Marshal - Media Relations

For further information:

or to obtain photos of the recipients, contact:
Carol Gravelle, Office of the Fire Marshal, 416-325-3138

Organization Profile

Office of the Fire Marshal - Media Relations

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890