and the Walrus Foundation Unveil Shortlist for 2015 First Novel Award

SEATTLE, April 1, 2015 /CNW/ - and the Walrus Foundation today introduced the nominees for the 2015 First Novel Award ( which celebrates the remarkable achievements of first-time Canadian novelists.

The five finalists were selected by head judge Nick Mount. Mount is the fiction editor of The Walrus, author of the prize-winning When Canadian Literature Moved to New York and an associate professor in the Department of English at the University of Toronto.

The finalists for the 2015 First Novel Award, listed alphabetically by author, are:

"We received a wide range of submissions, from writers and publishers across the country and no one genre, setting or style dominated," said Mount, head judge and fiction editor of The Walrus. "The judges and I are committed to finding the best books and it will be no easy task to select this year's winner."

The winner will be announced on May 21 at the annual First Novel Award ceremony held in Toronto at the Four Seasons Hotel. The winner will be selected from the list of nominees by a panel of judges including head judge Nick Mount and award-winning authors Helen Humphreys and Richard Wagamese.

"With the Walrus Foundation and our esteemed judges, we are eager to celebrate a new year of extraordinary Canadian authors," said Alexandre Gagnon, country manager for "We continue to be dedicated to highlighting new and emerging talent in Canadian literature through the First Novel Award. And this year is no exception, the quality of work was tremendous. It is a privilege to be part of a program that is devoted to nurturing the writing careers of debut authors."

Established in 1976, the First Novel Award program has a long history honouring and beginning the careers of Canada's favourite novelists. Previous winners include: Michael Ondaatje (1976), Joan Barfoot (1978), Joy Kogawa (1981), W.P. Kinsella (1982), Nino Ricci (1990), Rohinton Mistry (1991), Shyam Selvadurai (1994), Anne Michaels (1996), Margaret Gibson (1997), Andre Alexis (1998), Alan R. Wilson and David Macfarlane (co-winners, 1999), Eva Stachniak (2000), Michael Redhill (2001), Mary Lawson (2002), Michel Basilières (2003), Colin McAdam (2004), Joseph Boyden (2005), Madeleine Thien (2006), Gil Adamson (2007), Joan Thomas (2008), Jessica Grant (2009), Eleanor Catton (2010), David Bezmozgis (2011), Anakana Schofield (2012) and Wayne Grady (2013).

To find additional information about the finalists and their novels, and to find out more about the First Novel Award, visit or  

About Amazon opened on the World Wide Web in July 1995. The company is guided by four principles: customer obsession rather than competitor focus, passion for invention, commitment to operational excellence, and long-term thinking. Customer reviews, 1-Click shopping, personalized recommendations, Prime, Fulfillment by Amazon, AWS, Kindle Direct Publishing, Kindle, Fire phone, Fire tablets, and Fire TV are some of the products and services pioneered by Amazon.

About the Walrus Foundation
The Walrus Foundation is a registered charitable non-profit (No. 861851624-RR0001) with an educational mandate to create forums for matters vital to Canadians. The foundation is dedicated to supporting writers, artists, ideas, and thought-provoking conversation. We achieve these goals across multiple platforms: publishing The Walrus magazine ten times a year, in print, tablet, and smart phone editions; curating the Walrus Talks, leadership dinners, speakers' series, and other events across the country; posting original, high-quality content at; and through such digital projects as Walrus Ebooks. The foundation also partners with Blue Ant Media to produce documentaries and other programming at; and trains young professionals in media, publishing, and non-profit development.


For further information: Andrew Gouveia, NATIONAL Public Relations,, 416-848-1385

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890