and "Quill & Quire" Announce Finalists for 2009 First
Novel Award

SEATTLE, March 4 /CNW/ - ( today announced the finalists for the 34th Annual First Novel Award, a Canadian literary award that recognizes the outstanding achievement of a first-time novelist who published his or her first novel in 2009.

"We're excited that the First Novel Award has become a means for readers to discover great Canadian literature," said John Nemeth, director, " is proud to provide customers with this gauge for emerging literary talent in Canada. Additionally, we're truly pleased to be working with 'Quill & Quire' as a co-presenter for the first time this year."

The six nominees for the 2009 First Novel Award, listed alphabetically by author, are:

    -   "No Place Strange" by Diana Fitzgerald Bryden, Key Porter Books
    -   "Come, Thou Tortoise" by Jessica Grant, Knopf Canada
    -   "The Golden Mean" by Annabel Lyon, Random House Canada
    -   "Goya's Dog" by Damian Tarnopolsky, Hamish Hamilton Canada
    -   "Diary of Interrupted Days" by Dragan Todorovic, Random House Canada
    -   "Daniel O'Thunder" by Ian Weir, Douglas & McIntyre

The winner will be announced at the annual First Novel Award event in April in Toronto. The winner will receive $7,500 CDN - the largest Canadian prize for a first novel. All finalists will receive a $750 gift certificate redeemable at

"'Quill & Quire' is proud to be part of the First Novel Award that highlights great writing by emerging Canadian authors," said Alison Jones, publisher, "Quill & Quire."

The finalists were selected by Stuart Woods, editor of "Quill & Quire." Before working as a print journalist, Woods worked as an editor at the Montreal publishing house Price-Patterson. He is a graduate of the University of King's College in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Also serving as judges for the 2009 First Novel Award are Joseph Boyden, a prominent Canadian novelist and winner of-among numerous other awards-the 2005 First Novel Award; Priscila Uppal, a Toronto-based poet, novelist, editor and non-fiction writer who is also a professor of English at York University in Toronto and sits on the Board of Directors at the Toronto Arts Council; and Hal Wake, the artistic director of the Vancouver International Writers Festival who has hosted or moderated hundreds of literary events at festivals around the world.

Since 1976, the First Novel Award has launched the careers of some of Canada's most beloved novelists. Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje (1976), Joan Barfoot (1978), Joy Kogawa (1981), W.P. Kinsella (1982), Nino Ricci (1990), Rohinton Mistry (1991), Shyam Selvadurai (1994), Anne Michaels (1996), Margaret Gibson (1997), Andre Alexis (1998), Alan R. Wilson and David Macfarlane (co-winners, 1999), Eva Stachniak (2000), Michael Redhill (2001), Mary Lawson (2002), Michel Basilières (2003), Colin McAdam (2004), Joseph Boyden (2005), Madeleine Thien (2006), Gil Adamson (2007) and Joan Thomas (2008).

More information about the 2009 First Novel Award shortlist can be found at

About ( is part of the global family of Amazon Web sites that have become known for great prices, selection, and convenience. customers can find and discover millions of English and French books, CDs, videos, DVDs and electronics, Home and Garden products, as well as a vast array of software, video games, and consoles - all at everyday low prices. also offers FREE Super Saver Shipping, available on orders of $39 CAD or more delivered to a single Canadian address. sources products directly from Canadian publishers and distributors, ensuring a rich offering of Canadian titles and content. Features such as original editorial reviews in English and French and product recommendations help customers find the right products for them among the site's broad selection. Through Amazon Marketplace, customers can conveniently buy and sell used, new, and collectible merchandise on the same pages where sells those items new.

To ensure all orders are delivered to customers quickly and efficiently, works with Canada Post, one of the world's most progressive postal companies. Orders placed at are fulfilled and shipped from within Canada by Assured Logistics, a part of the Canada Post Group of Companies.

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. Actual results may differ significantly from management's expectations. These forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties that include, among others, risks related to competition, management of growth, new products, services and technologies, potential fluctuations in operating results, international expansion, outcomes of legal proceedings and claims, fulfillment center optimization, seasonality, commercial agreements, acquisitions and strategic transactions, foreign exchange rates, system interruption, inventory, government regulation and taxation, payments and fraud. More information about factors that potentially could affect's financial results is included in's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including its most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and subsequent filings.


For further information: For further information: Margaret Antkowski, Dane Wolfe, (416) 586-0180,,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890