AJAs Adds Community Newspaper Award

HALIFAX, Nov. 24, 2015 /CNW Telbec/ - The Atlantic Journalism Awards (AJAs) has announced the addition of a new category, the Best Community Newspaper News Story. The award will honour Atlantic Canadian community newspapers and their journalists who demonstrate excellence in the reporting of a single news story.  The award is open to any newspaper which is not a daily and which is published in Atlantic Canada.  

Judges will be asked to consider the degree of difficulty of the story, journalistic merit, quality of writing and the item's relevance and timeliness for the community. Judges will select three finalists from the entries with one overall gold winner. Details of the award and Judges' Guidelines can be viewed at www.AJAs.ca.  The Best Community Newspaper News Award, along with the other AJAs awards, will be presented during the gala awards event on May 7, 2016 at the Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel.

The Atlantic Journalism Awards is in its 35th year of recognizing journalistic excellence in all Atlantic Canada media.  There are 27 separate categories including stories and photos from newspapers, magazines, radio, television and online.  Entries for the 2015 news year competition open online at  www.AJAs.ca on December 1, 2015.  The deadline for entries is February 1, 2016.


SOURCE Atlantic Journalism Awards

For further information: Bill Skerrett, Executive Director, Atlantic Journalism Awards, 902-478-6026, Email bmskerrett@aol.com


Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890