24 Carnegie Medals Awarded in U.S., Canada for Acts of Extraordinary Civilian Heroism

PITTSBURGH, Dec. 17, 2015 /CNW/ -- In its fourth and final announcement of 2015, the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission today awarded 24 Carnegie Medals in recognition of civilian heroism throughout the United States and Canada.  The medal is given to those who risk their lives to an extraordinary degree while saving or attempting to save the lives of others.  Four of the awardees died in the performance of their heroic acts.

The heroes announced today bring to 84 the number of awards made to date in 2015 and to 9,821 the total number since the Pittsburgh-based Fund's inception in 1904.  Commission Chair Mark Laskow stated that each of the awardees or their survivors will also receive a financial grant.  Throughout the 111 years since the Fund was established by industrialist-philanthropist Andrew Carnegie, $37.7 million has been given in one-time grants, scholarship aid, death benefits, and continuing assistance.  The awardees are:

Cesar Andy Garcia                               

Ronkonkoma, N.Y.

Michael Thomas Frawley                      

Hamburg, N.Y.

Dennis C. Hunke II, deceased              

Plainfield, Ill.

Helen Goulet                                        

Courtenay, B.C.

Gary Olson Family                                

Jefferson, S.D.

Peter Todd Radke, deceased                

Medina, Ohio

Wayne L. Hoffman, deceased              

Spring Green, Wis.

Michael Campanella                             

Clifton Park, N.Y.

Adam Matthew Myers                         

Ballston Spa, N.Y.

Kevin Michael O'Connor                      

Ottawa, Ill.

Laurence T. Norton III                         

New Orleans, La.

Clifford W. J. Peterson                         

Ajax, Ont.

Fraser A. Potts                                    

Limoges, Ont.

Jon Christopher Meis                            

Renton, Wash.

Steven A. Martin                                  

Northern Cambria, Pa.

Neil C. Burkhardt                                 

Portland, Ore.

Matthew L. Tranel                               

Maquoketa, Iowa

Cory Alan Simonson                             

Maquoketa, Iowa

Joshua J. Gardner                                 

Calgary, Alta.

Clifford A. Wright                                

Sarasota, Fla.

Stuart Chaffin                                      

St. Cloud, Fla.

Boyce Coleman, deceased                   

Yonkers, N.Y.

Jenna Fanelli                                        

Elmsford, N.Y.

William J. Driscoll                                

Middleboro, Mass.

Resumes of the acts can be found at http://carnegiehero.org/awardees. Fuller information on the Carnegie Medal and the history of the Carnegie Hero Fund Commission can be found at www.carnegiehero.org.  Find us on Facebook:  facebook.com/carnegiehero.                                 

Douglas R. Chambers
Toll free:  1-800-447-8900

SOURCE Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

Organization Profile

Carnegie Hero Fund Commission

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890