17 finalists for Trillium Book Award

Ontario authors short-listed for province's prestigious literary prize

TORONTO, June 1 /CNW/ -


TORONTO - Seven English books and five French have been short-listed for the 23rd Annual Trillium Book Award, the Ontario government's prestigious award for literature. This year, three titles are also short-listed for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language and two titles in French language.

On June 23, 2010 the public are invited to join in the celebration of the finalists with authors' readings followed by a reception. The event will be held in the Bram & Bluma Appel Salon, Toronto Reference Library, 2nd Floor, 789 Yonge Street, Toronto. On June 24, 2010, the Honourable Michael Chan, Ontario Minister of Tourism and Culture, will announce the winners in Toronto at a luncheon.

    English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium are:
    Margaret Atwood, The Year of the Flood (McClelland & Stewart)
    Ian Brown, The Boy in the Moon (Random House Canada)
    Alexandra Leggat, Animal (Anvil Press)
    Anne Michaels, The Winter Vault (McClelland & Stewart)
    Alice Munro, Too Much Happiness (McClelland & Stewart)
    Emily Schultz, Heaven is Small (House of Anansi Press)
    Cordelia Strube, Lemon (Coach House Books)

    French Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium are:
    Ryad Assani-Razaki, Deux cercles (VLB éditeur)
    Nicole Champeau, Pointe Maligne. L'infiniment oubliée (Les Éditions du
    Jean Mohsen Fahmy, Frères ennemis (VLB éditeur)
    Daniel Poliquin, René Lévesque (Les Éditions du Boréal)
    Daniel Soha, La Maison : une parabole (Éditions du GREF)

    English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry are:
    Susan Holbrook, Joy is so Exhausting (Coach House Books)
    Karen Solie, Pigeon (House of Anansi Press)
    Matthew Tierney, The Hayflick Limit (Coach House Books)

    French Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry are:
    Jacqueline Borowick, Le chant du coucou (Inanna Publications & Education
    Michèle Matteau, Passerelles (Les Éditions L'Interligne)


"The Trillium Book Awards are a long-cherished tradition that celebrates the incredible depth and diversity of literary talent we have here in Ontario. Congratulations to this year's Trillium Book Award nominees on this well-deserved recognition and for continuing our tradition of literary excellence."

- Michael Chan, Minister of Tourism and Culture

"Congratulations to all our shortlisted authors, whose compelling works contribute to the rich cultural traditions of our province and country. We wish them, and their publishers, continued success in bringing Canada's voice to a growing and appreciative global audience."

- Kevin Shea, Chair, Ontario Media Development Corporation


    -  The Trillium Book Award encourages excellence in literature through
       its significant investment in Ontario-based writers. Award recipients
       for both English and French works receive $20,000. Their respective
       publishers also receive $2,500 to promote the winning titles. All
       finalists receive a $500 honorarium.

    -  The Trillium Book Award for Poetry was introduced during the 16th
       Trillium year to recognize new emerging poets in English and French
       language (poets' first, second and third published works only are
       eligible for consideration for this prize). The winner for each of
       these awards receives $10,000 and their publisher $2,000 for promotion
       of the titles. Finalists for these awards also receive a $500

    -  Internationally-acclaimed authors who have received the Trillium Award
       include Alistair MacLeod, Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje, Austin
       Clark and Alice Munro.


The Ontario government established the Trillium Book Award (http://www.omdc.on.ca/Page3217.aspx) in 1987 to recognize excellence, support marketing and foster increased public awareness of the quality and diversity of Ontario writers and writing.

Ontario Media Development Corporation (http://www.omdc.on.ca/Page3283.aspx) administers the Trillium Book Awards on behalf of the Ministry of Tourism and Culture (http://www.culture.gov.on.ca/english/index.html).



Disponible en français

SOURCE Trillium Book Awards

For further information: For further information: Contact Trillium Book Award Finalists: Charmaine Khan, Trillium Publicist, MediaProfile, (416) 504-8464, E-mail: Charmaine@MediaProfile.com; For French Media Relations: Dane Gergovich, French Trillium Publicist, MediaProfile, (416) 504-8464, E-mail: daneg@MediaProfile.com; Contact for OMDC: Sharon Wilson, OMDC Communications, (416) 642-6616, E-mail: swilson@omdc.on.ca; Contact for Minister Chan: Alicia Farrow, Minister's Office, (416) 325-4543, E-Mail: Alicia.Farrow@ontario.ca; Denelle Balfour, Communications Branch, (416) 212-3928, E-mail: Denelle.Balfour@ontario.ca

Organization Profile

Trillium Book Awards

More on this organization

Ontario Media Development Corporation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890