Three Ontario Municipalities Receive Top Honours for Energy Conservation

East Gwillimbury, Hamilton, and Markham are top winners in province-wide conservation awards

TORONTO, Dec. 6, 2012 /CNW/ - Today, the Town of East Gwillimbury, City of Hamilton and City of Markham received a Community Conservation Award, a new award that recognizes Ontario municipalities for their commitment to energy-saving initiatives, community energy planning, and strong conservation leadership.

A collaborative effort led by the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA), the Community Conservation Awards are given to communities that demonstrate strong achievement in the following areas:

  • Conservation leadership
  • Innovation and market transformation
  • Corporate/internal and community engagement
  • Conservation achievements

Nine finalists, separated into three population categories, were selected by a panel of five external judges who are experts in the municipal conservation field. The three winners received their awards at today's Local Authority Services Symposium, organized by AMO.

"Congratulations to the finalists in this year's Community Conservation Awards," said AMO President, Gary McNamara. "AMO firmly supports our collective efforts to build a culture of conservation in Ontario. Municipalities are local leaders committed to reducing costs and doing our part to fight climate change. Conservation is a straightforward, common sense approach to help reach those goals."

"Today's awards showcase the leadership municipalities are demonstrating by promoting, supporting and implementing energy-efficiency initiatives in their communities," said OPA VP of Conservation, Andrew Pride. "Ontario's saveONenergy programs enable all Ontarians to engage in energy conservation and help us succeed in meeting our province-wide conservation goals."

"Ontario's local distribution companies (LDCs) are proud to play a lead role in helping Ontario communities and families find ways to manage their electricity use," said Charlie Macaluso, President and Chief Executive Officer of the EDA. "The award winners set a powerful example of how partnerships between municipalities and LDCs at the local level have led to innovative initiatives that have successfully engaged residents and businesses in conservation - with excellent results."

The awards are open to all municipalities in Ontario. Participating municipalities in this year's awards were required to provide a written submission that outlined their conservation efforts, as well as two recent case studies highlighting specific conservation initiatives.

More information about the Community Conservation Awards can be found here:

Ontario's saveONenergy energy conservation programs can be found here:

Community Conservation Awards

Community Conservation Awards
In its inaugural year, the Community Conservation Awards (CCA) recognize the integral work municipalities are doing across the province in the areas of conservation leadership, innovation and engagement. The awards are a collaborative effort led by the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) in conjunction with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA).

Entry Process
Participation in the CCA is open to all municipalities in Ontario. For this year's entry process, municipalities were required to submit a brief description of their efforts in conservation leadership, innovation and market transformation, corporate/internal and community engagement, and conservation achievements. They were also required to submit two recent case studies highlighting two specific projects/initiatives undertaken by the municipality, which may include community energy planning.

For more information on the entry process and the rules and requirements, please visit: or contact the CCA team by email at:

2012 CCA Finalists
This year, nine finalists - three from each population category - were announced on August 21, 2012, at the AMO conference.

Here are the names of the finalist communities and their local distribution companies:

  • Under 150,000
    • Caledon - Hydro One
    • East Gwillimbury - Hydro One
    • Sault Ste. Marie - PUC Inc.
  • 150,000 - 500,000
    • Burlington - Burlington Hydro
    • Markham - Powerstream
    • Vaughan - Powerstream
  • Over 500,000
    • Durham Region - Veridian Connections, Whitby Hydro and Oshawa PUC
    • Hamilton - Horizon Utilities
    • Mississauga - Enersource

Community Conservation Awards Presentation
This year's Community Conservation Awards were handed out at the AMO's Local Authority Services Symposium, which examines successful partnerships between municipalities and energy utilities in Ontario as well as the interrelationships between energy, economics and ecology.

Submission Review Panel
The entries were reviewed by a panel of five external judges who are experts in the municipal conservation field:

  • Ian Rowlands, Professor, Environment and Resource Studies, University of Waterloo, and Associate Director (Global Initiatives), Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy (WISE) University of Waterloo
  • Brent Gilmour, Executive Director, QUEST Canada
  • Peter Love, President, Love Energy Consultants Inc.
  • Gabriella Kalapos, Executive Director, Clean Air Partnership
  • Megan Meaney, Executive Director, ICLEI Canada

More information about the Community Conservation Awards can be found here:

Image with caption: "Gary McNamara, Association of Municipalities (presenter); Geoff Lupton, Director of Energy and Traffic, City of Hamilton; Graham Seaman, Senior Manager, Sustainability Office, City of Markham; Tara Roy-DiClemente, Councillor, Town of East Gwillimbury; Andrew Pride, Ontario Power Authority (presenter); Charlie Macaluso, Electricity Distributors Association (presenter) (CNW Group/Ontario Power Authority)". Image available at:

SOURCE: Ontario Power Authority

For further information:

or to request an interview:

Tim Butters
Ontario Power Authority

Profil de l'entreprise

Ontario Power Authority

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.