The Canadian Journalism Foundation Excellence in Journalism Award

Have you made a difference?

TORONTO, Feb. 1, 2012 /CNW/ - The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) invites news organizations from across the country to apply for its annual Excellence in Journalism Award. The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2012.

Since 1996, the Canadian Journalism Foundation has celebrated news organizations that embrace ideals of journalistic excellence - accuracy, independence, accountability, courage and originality - with its annual Excellence in Journalism Award. Winners in two categories are selected: 1) large or national media and 2) small/medium or local/regional media.

Past winners include:

2011   Toronto Star (large media)
  CBC Manitoba (small media)
2010   Toronto Star (large media)
  Metroland Durham Region (small media)
2009   The Winnipeg Free Press (large media)
  The Tyee (small media)
2008   The Canadian Press (large media)
  The St. John's Telegram (small media)
2007   The Hamilton Spectator (large media)
  The Guelph Mercury (small media)
2006   The Globe and Mail
2005       The Hamilton Spectator
2004   CBC News
2003   The Record, Kitchener
2002   CTV News

At last year's Gala, Michael Cooke, editor of the large-media category winner Toronto Star, accepted the award on behalf of the organization.

"Good journalism starts with good reporters," said Cooke. "The truth is there's not a lot in between. Good reporters are everything."

CBC Manitoba won the Excellence in Journalism Award in the small, medium or regional market category.

"It's really humbling to be in this room," said Cecil Rosner, managing editor of CBC Manitoba, noting that making a living as a journalist is rewarding in itself. "I count myself lucky to be able to come to work every day."

This year's winner will be announced at the CJF 15th Annual Awards Gala to be held at The Fairmont Royal York on June 7, 2012.

At the same time, the CJF Annual Honorary Tribute will be paid posthumously to Peter Jennings, Canadian-born anchor and senior editor of ABC's World News Tonight, to mark a storied career. Other awards, including the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Greg Clark Award and the Tom Hanson Photojournalism Award, will also be presented.

For more information, visit or contact Natalie Turvey at or at 416-955-0394.

About The Canadian Journalism Foundation

Founded in 1990, the Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a not-for-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by celebrating outstanding journalistic achievement through an annual awards program; by operating journalism websites, (English) and (French), in cooperation with the country's leading journalism schools; and by organizing events that facilitate dialogue among journalists, business people, government officials, academics and students about the role of the media in Canadian society; and by fostering opportunities for journalism education, training and research.

SOURCE Canadian Journalism Foundation

For further information:

Natalie Turvey
Executive Director
The Canadian Journalism Foundation
59 Adelaide St. E, 5th floor
Toronto, ON  M5C 1K6
Phone: 416-955-0394 * Fax: 416-532-6879 * e-mail:


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.