Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Swim Team Nominees to the 2012 Canadian Paralympic Team

OTTAWA, June 4, 2012 /CNW/ - Congratulations to the swimmers who have earned their spots on the 2012 Canadian Paralympic Team. They are Camille Bérubé, Morgan Bird, Valerie Drapeau, Valérie Grand'Maison, Brianna Jennett-McNeill, Kirstie Kasko, Sarah Mailhot, Sarah Mehain, Summer Mortimer, Jana Murphy, Brianna Nelson, Aurélie Rivard, Katarina Roxon, Rhea Schmidt, Amber Thomas, Isaac Bouckley, Devin Gotell, Michael Heath, Brian Hill, Benoit Huot, Zachary McAllister, David Scott Patterson, Nathan Stein, and Donovan Tildesley.

These athletes have been training hard, devoting time and energy in order to qualify for the highest level of sport competition at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

The 2012 Paralympic Games will bring Canadian athletes together with other world calibre athletes in a common pursuit of sport excellence. The Harper Government is pleased to support Paralympic sports and our Canadian Paralympic athletes, who are a great source of pride for all Canadians. As the largest single contributor to sport in this country, the Government of Canada supports sport participation and excellence from playground to podium.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all the best to our Canadian Paralympic Team athletes as they prepare for the Games. I would also like to thank the coaches, family, and officials who support and encourage the athletes who will proudly represent our country.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage

For further information:

(media only), please contact: 

Jenny Van Alstyne
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Bal Gosal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of State (Sport)


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.