Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2012 Canadian Olympic and Paralympic Athletics Teams

OTTAWA, July 3, 2012 /CNW/ - As Minister of State (Sport), I offer my heartfelt congratulations to the Athletics Canada athletes who were named to the 2012 Canadian Olympic and Paralympic Teams.

The athletes named to the 2012 Olympic team are Mohammed Ahmed, Dylan Armstrong, Melissa Bishop, Mélanie Blouin, Nathan Brannen, Jared Connaughton, Reid Coolsaet, Derek Drouin, Crystal Emmanuel, Sultana Frizell, Alex Genest, Phylicia George, Eric Gillis, Elizabeth Gleadle, Inaki Gomez, Geoff Harris, Akeem Haynes, Nikkita Holder, Julie Labonté, Cameron Levins, Segun Makinde, Jenna Martin, Michael Mason, Curtis Moss, Justin Rodhe, Rachel Seaman, Nicole Sifuentes, Gavin Smellie, Jessica Smith, Oluseyi Smith, Heather Steacy, Jim Steacy, Hilary Stellingwerff, Brianne Theisen, Damian Warner, Ian Warner, Justyn Warner, Sarah Wells, Dylan Wykes and Jessica Zelinka.

The athletes named to the 2012 Paralympic team are Rachael Burrows, Josh Cassidy, Earle Connor, Nathan Dewitt, Braedon Dolfo, Jason Dunkerley, Jonathan Dunkerley, Alexandre Dupont, Michel Filteau, Keira-Lyn Frie, Eric Gauthier, Andrew Heffernan, Joshua Karanja, Brandon King, Brent Lakatos, Colin Mathieson, Virginia McLachlan, Alister McQueen, Kyle Pettey, Leah Robinson, Diane Roy, Michelle Stilwell, Curtis Thom, Dustin Walsh, Dylan Williamson and Sean Young.

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why the Harper Government is proud to provide our continued support for Olympic and Paralympic sports and our Canadian Olympic and Paralympic athletes who will proudly represent our great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare for this incredible milestone in their sport careers. We will be cheering for you and your teammates this summer as you begin your pursuit for world-class athletic excellence at the Olympic and Paralympic Games in London.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage

For further information:

For more information (media only), please contact:

Jenny Van Alstyne
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Bal Gosal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of State (Sport)


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.