Manning Innovation Awards and Symposium to be Held in Calgary October 15 /16


CALGARY, March 21, 2013 /CNW/ - The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation ( announced today Canada's most prestigious awards for innovation will be presented in Calgary this October.  The 32nd Annual Ernest C. Manning National Innovation Awards Gala will be held at the Telus Convention Centre on Wed. Oct. 16 starting at 6 PM.

The Foundation, named after the former Alberta Premier and Senator, honours, supports and draws public attention to Canadians of all ages with the imagination to innovate and the stamina to succeed.  The Foundation awards $165,000 in prizes annually making it Canada's largest innovation awards.

"It is so important that we celebrate our home-grown innovators, and I'm very pleased to see the awards returning to Calgary this year," said Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi.  "Innovation is part of our DNA in Calgary and a key factor in our global competitiveness and success."

To coincide with the awards gala, the University of Calgary announced it is organizing A Celebration of Innovation Symposium on Tues. Oct. 15. "The University of Calgary's Eyes Highvision is to become one of Canada's top five research universities by our 50th anniversary in 2016," said Elizabeth Cannon, President, University of Calgary. "Our new research plan inspires discovery, creativity and innovation across all disciplines. We are excited to host A Celebration of Innovation Symposium and highlight our ground-breaking research, innovative teaching and learning, and strong, meaningful connections with our communities in Calgary, across Canada and around the world," she said.

More than 500 leaders from across Canada in government, business, and academia including Manning Laureates and the 2013 winners are expected to be in Calgary for the awards gala and symposium. A dedicated group of volunteers will make up the Calgary steering committee chaired by Calgary business coach and TEC Chair Liam Christie. Calgary Steering Committee members include philanthropist Dick Haskayne, well-known Calgary volunteers Doug and Lois Mitchell, Edmonton philanthropist Stan Milner and recently retired Encana executive and former president of NAIT, Dr. Sam Shaw.

Since the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation was established in 1980, more than 300 Canadian innovators including recipients of the Foundation's Young Canadian program have received Manning Awards. Winners of 2013 Manning Awards are announced in the fall. Young Canadian Winners are announced at the Canada-Wide Science Fair in Lethbridge this May.

For more information about the 32nd Annual Ernest C. Manning National Innovation Awards Gala including tickets and table sponsorships visit; follow Manning Awards on Twitter @ManningAwardsCA, like on Facebook.

The University of Calgary's Celebration of Innovation Symposium will be held at the University's award-winning Energy, Environmental, and Experiential Learning Building on Tues. Oct. 15. For more Symposium information and registration visit   Twitter: @ManningSymposia

SOURCE: Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

For further information:

Media contacts: 

Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation:
Rosemarie Enslin, Enslin Group, 403 245 8321

Mayor's Office:
Daorcey Le Bray, 403 333 2272

University of Calgary:
Nathan Long,  403 210 6308

Profil de l'entreprise

Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.