Jordan Eberle Named Top Canadian World Juniors Player of the Past 40 Years

- TSN's panel of 25 hockey experts choose Eberle to headline Top 40 list of Canada's all-time best players at the IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP -
- TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS airs tonight at 7:30 p.m. ET on TSN and TSN Mobile TV -

To tweet this release:

TORONTO, Dec. 19, 2012 /CNW/ - Edmonton Oilers forward Jordan Eberle is the #1 player in Team Canada history at the World Juniors, as determined by a poll of 25 hockey experts for TSN's TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS special tonight at 7:30 p.m. ET on TSN and TSN Mobile TV.  Eberle headlines a list of 40 elite Canadian World Juniors players that includes Eric Lindros, Wayne Gretzky, Jason Allison, and Manny Legace (see below for Top 10 players; visit for complete Top 40 list).

The list was compiled in celebration of the 40th anniversary of the World Juniors tournament.

Eberle played for Team Canada at the IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP in 2009 and 2010, winning a gold and silver medal.  In 2009, Eberle scored one of the most memorable goals in Canadian World Juniors history against Team Russia in the semifinal round.  The following year, Eberle was named tournament MVP and Best Forward.  Eberle is Team Canada's all-time leading goal-scorer (14) and second in points (26) - five behind scoring leader Lindros, who represented Canada at the tournament in 1990, 1991, and 1992.

A native of Regina, Eberle receives $5,000 to donate to his charity of choice - the Hospitals of Regina Foundation - for being named the top Canadian player in World Juniors history.

"Team Canada has a rich and storied tradition at the World Junior Championship and I'm honoured to be a part of it," said Eberle.  "It's flattering to be named #1, but as a Canadian, it's always amazing to play for Canada and put on the maple leaf."

The panel of experts polled for TSN's Top 40 list includes hockey broadcasters, writers, scouts, and executives who cover or are involved with the IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP.

"To determine Canada's greatest players at the World Junior Championship, we asked 25 of the greatest tournament watchers to give us their choices and we believe the results speak for themselves," said Steve Dryden, Managing Editor of Content, TSN.  "We are proud of the panel's work narrowing a list of hundreds of players who have represented Canada to a Top 40."

TSN's James Duthie hosts the 60-minute TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS special tonight alongside Hockey Insider Bob McKenzie, as they break down the exclusive list of Top 40 players.  The special also features a countdown of the Top 10 most dramatic moments in Team Canada history at the World Juniors.

The Top 10 players on TSN's TEAM CANADA'S 40 GREATEST JUNIORS list are as follows:

  1. Jordan Eberle, F (2009, 2010)
  2. Eric Lindros, F (1990, 1991, 1992)
  3. Wayne Gretzky, F (1978)
  4. Jason Allison, F (1994, 1995)
  5. Manny Legace, G (1993)
  6. John Tavares, F (2008, 2009)
  7. Ryan Ellis, D (2009, 2010, 2011)
  8. Jonathan Toews, F (2006, 2007)
  9. Patrice Bergeron, F (2005)
  10. Jimmy Waite, G (1987, 1988)

TSN has complete live coverage of the 2013 IIHF WORLD JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP from Dec. 26 to Jan. 5, with pre-competition games beginning Thursday, Dec. 20.


  • Sherry Bassin, Erie Otters general manager
  • Craig Button, TSN scout
  • Tim Bernhardt, Phoenix Coyotes scout
  • Ken Campbell, The Hockey News
  • David Conte, New Jersey Devils scout
  • Gregg Drinnan, Kamloops Daily News
  • James Duthie, TSN host
  • Sheldon Ferguson, Carolina Hurricanes scout
  • Ray Ferraro, TSN analyst
  • Paul Graham, TSN vice-president
  • Terry Jones, Edmonton Sun
  • Terry Koshan, Toronto Sun
  • Marc Lachapelle, Journal de Montréal (retired)
  • Gary Lawless, Winnipeg Free Press
  • Stéphane Leroux, RDS host
  • Peter Loubardias, Shaw WHL play-by-play commentator
  • Blair Mackasey, Minnesota Wild scout
  • Pierre McGuire, NBC analyst
  • Bob McKenzie, TSN Insider
  • Gord Miller, TSN play-by-play commentator
  • Willy Palov, Halifax Chronicle-Herald
  • Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada vice-president
  • Andrew Podnieks, IIHF writer
  • Donna Spencer, Canadian Press
  • Ed Willes, Vancouver Province

Visit to follow TSN's hockey experts and Insiders
Hashtag: #TSN


TSN is Canada's Sports Leader and #1 specialty network. With a broad portfolio of multimedia sports assets, TSN delivers world-class content across industry-leading platforms including TSN2,, TSN Radio and TSN Mobile TV. Official broadcaster of the Grey Cup, IIHF World Junior Championship and FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015, TSN's slate of live sports coverage includes NHL, CFL, NFL, NBA, MLS, Season of Champions Curling, UEFA Euro 2016, MLB Sunday Night Baseball, Barclays Premier League, Golf's Majors, NASCAR Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series, F1, Grand Slam Tennis, NCAA March Madness, and Skate Canada events. TSN is a division of Bell Media, which is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada's largest communications company.


For further information:

Greg McIsaac, (w) 416.384.5180, (c) 416.458.3591,
Chobi Liang, (w) 416.384.7584, (c) 416.859.4738,
Renee Rouse, (w) 416.384.7599,

Twitter: @TSN_PR


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.