Finalists named for BC's Annual Journalism Awards

VANCOUVER, Sept. 3, 2014 /CNW/ - Finalists have been named for the 2014 Jack Webster Awards, with category winners to be announced at the 28th annual Jack Webster Awards dinner on October 29 at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver.

National Post and Postmedia columnist Andrew Coyne is the featured speaker at the awards dinner and CBC's News Vancouver 5 & 6 Host Andrew Chang take on this year's emcee duties. The 2014 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Brian Coxford, recently retired after 40 years with Global BC.


Best News Reporting of the Year – Print

  • Louise Dickson, Lindsay Kines, Rob Shaw, Mike Devlin, Jeff Bell, Sarah Petrescu, Jack Knox, Les Leyne, Richard Watts, Cindy Harnett, Carla Wilson, Iain Hunter Victoria, Times Colonist: Canada Day Terror Plot
  • James Keller, The Canadian Press: Highway of Tears
  • Frances Bula, The Globe and Mail: PHS

Best News Reporting of the Year – Radio

  • Bob Keating, CBC Radio: Green Rush
  • Curt Petrovich, CBC National Radio News: Typhoon Haiyan
  • Curt Petrovich, CBC National Radio News: Killer Slide

Best News Reporting of the Year – Television

  • Natalie Clancy, Paisley Woodward, Robb Douglas, CBC News Vancouver: Code White
  • Kathy Tomlinson, Enza Uda, CBC News Vancouver: McJobs
  • Kendall Hanson, Dean Stoltz, Garry Frang, Glenn Ohlson, Jim Beatty, Mary Griffin, Dana Hutchings, Rob Germain and team, CHEK News: Sawmill Shooting

Best Feature Story – Print

  • Lori Culbert, Tracy Sherlock, The Vancouver Sun: From Care to Where?
  • Cheryl Chan, Sam Cooper, Susan Lazaruk, Elaine O'Connor, Cassidy Olivier, Jason Payne, Arlen Redekop, Jon Ferry, J.J. Adams, Ros Guggi, Katie Mercer, Carolyn Soltau, The Province: Racism in Paradise
  • Vancouver Courier Team, Vancouver Courier: Vancouver Special

Best Feature Story – Radio

  • Margaret Gallagher, CBC Radio, The Early Edition: At Home At Last
  • Stephen Quinn, Theresa Duvall, Jodie Martinson, Jennifer Chen, Matthew Lazin-Ryder, Lisa Christiansen, CBC Radio: Gay and Grey
  • Mark Leiren-Young, Yvonne Gall, CBC Radio: Moby Doll: The Whale That Changed the World

Best Feature Story – Television

  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts, Michelle Billman, Doug Trent, CBC The National: Residential Schools and Hockey
  • Allan Hopkins, Pieter Romer, Winston Xin, CTV Vancouver – First Story: Residential School Lost and Found
  • Chris Brown, Brett Hyde, Brian Dutkewich, CBC The National: Tearing It Up: Big White's Olympic Snowboarders

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism

  • Chad Skelton, Kevin Griffin, The Vancouver Sun: An Auto Crime and Bike Theft
  • Shannon Miller, Erik Rolfsen, Jennifer Saltman, Ben Ngai, Rafe Arnott, David Rigler, Ginger Sedlarova, The Province, Homicide, Surrey Edition
  • Ana Komnenic, TIMELINE; Pascua Lama – from $1.5 billion to $8.5 billion to suspension

Jack Webster Business, Industry and Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier

  • Matt O'Grady, BCBusiness: High Hopes
  • Brent Jang, Iain Marlow, The Globe and Mail: LNG Boom
  • Frances Bula, Vancouver Magazine: The Modern Drive -Through

Best Reporting - Chinese Language

  • James Fung, Wai Man Ip and team, Sing Tao Daily (BC Edition) : BC Government's Apology to Chinese Community – The Inside Story
  • Johann Chang and Travena Lee, Fairchild Radio: Chinese-only Signs
  • Otto Tang, Tina Song, Karen So, Guo Ding, Bowen Zhang, Doug Cheng, Omni TV: Road to the BC Chinese Apology

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting:

  • Tyler Olsen, Chilliwack Times: A Family's Fate
  • Tamara Cunningham, Nanaimo News Bulletin: A Journey with ALS
  • Rob Wipond, Focus Magazine: Coup de Police

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of BC

  • Natalie Clancy, Paisley Woodward, Al Stewart, CBC News Vancouver: Deadbeat Tenants
  • Duncan McCue, CBC The National: Last Right
  • Bal Brach, Bob Keating, Enza Uda, CBC News: Tim Hortons Temporary Foreign Workers Abuse

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology, Health and Environment
Sponsored by Genome BC

  • Lori Culbert, The Vancouver Sun: Drug Watchdog vs Big Pharma
  • Duncan McCue, James Roberts, Doug Trent, Michelle Billman, CBC The National: Imagine the Fire
  • Dan Fumano, The Province: Our Water Series

Commentator of the Year
Presented in memory of Linda Webster
Winner will be announced at the Jack Webster Awards Dinner

Tickets for the October 29 awards dinner at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver can be ordered by calling 604-261-6184, by emailing or by visiting and following the dinner ticket link. Tickets are $175 per person or $1,750 for a table of 10. A portion of the dinner ticket price is tax deductible.

The Jack Webster Foundation, named after the late broadcaster who was Western Canada's best known and most influential reporter, was established in 1986 to recognize and encourage excellence in British Columbia journalism. The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of BCGEU, CPA British Columbia, CN, Labatt Breweries, Fortis BC, HSBC Bank Canada, Port Metro Vancouver, TELUS and WorksafeBC.

SOURCE: Jack Webster Foundation

For further information: Jack Webster Foundation, Tel. 604-261-6184, Email:, Website:


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.