EDC announces 30 winners for its 2013 International Business Scholarships Program

OTTAWA, June 11, 2013 /CNW/ - Export Development Canada (EDC) today announced the recipients of its 2013 International Business Scholarship Program.

EDC awarded 30 scholarships to post-secondary business students across the country to underscore the significance of international trade and investment among Canada's future young business leaders. Under its scholarship program, EDC awards scholarships to outstanding students in the field of international business and outstanding students who have combined business and environmental studies.

"The candidates were very strong, challenging our selection committee to select only the best of the best", said Ruth Fothergill, Head of Corporate Responsibility. "We saw an important increase in the number of student applicants and recipients from colleges, this year, with 337 students submitting eligible applications from 55 universities and 16 colleges across Canada."

EDC has now granted 367 scholarships since the program inception in 2000.

The scholarships were awarded to: Hometown
Eric Agyemang, University of Ottawa (Ottawa, ON)
Shireen Ali, Wilfrid Laurier University (Brampton, ON)
Leyla Alizada, Seneca College of Applied Arts & Technology (Toronto, ON)
Alison Carlyle, University of Waterloo (Barrie, ON)
Kyle Collison - University of Alberta (Edmonton, AB)
Aurelie Dahoo, University of Ottawa (Ottawa, ON)
Saliya de Zoysa Jagamuni - Seneca College of Applied Arts & Technology (North York, ON)
Breagh Farquharson - Thompson Rivers University (Barriere, BC)
Kathryn Grant - University of Victoria (Victoria, BC)
Melissa Haines - University of Waterloo (Mississauga, ON)
Scott Hirsch - Simon Fraser University (Coquitlam, BC)
Ray Howard - Ryerson University (Toronto, ON)
Christopher Kropp, Carleton University (Kitchener, ON)
Mimi Lam, Carleton University (Ottawa, ON)
Anita Lee, Western University (Mississauga, ON)
Brett Lindquist, University of Alberta (Elk Point, AB)
Darrin Mah, University of Victoria (Richmond, BC)
Shaun McGeough, Carleton University (Ottawa, ON)
Ross Park, Carleton University (Hawkesbury, ON)
Sara Pelaez Restrepo, Humber Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning  (Toronto, ON)
Leah Perry, Carleton University (Georgetown, ON)
Asha Rajak, Seneca College of Applied Arts & Technology (Toronto, ON)
Jason Rondeau, Saint Mary's University (Upper Tantallon, NS)
Karine Sabourin, University of Manitoba (Winnipeg, MB)
Nathan Shantz, Wilfrid Laurier University (Oakville, ON)
Vincent Song, Simon Fraser University (Burnaby, BC)
Myra Tremblay, Université Laval (Québec, PQ)
Cameron Turnbull, Saint Mary's University (Dartmouth, NS)
Cameron York, University of Victoria (North Vancouver, BC)
Cedric Zhang, Wilfrid Laurier University (Oakville, ON)

Earlier this year EDC published a summary of a tracking study conducted to learn more about where former recipients are now and what they are doing. For more information on this study, keep reading here.

For more information on EDC's International Business Scholarship Program, please visit EDC's website.

EDC is Canada's export credit agency, offering innovative commercial solutions to help Canadian exporters and investors expand their international business. EDC's knowledge and partnerships are used by more than 7,400 Canadian companies and their global customers in up to 200 markets worldwide each year. EDC is financially self-sustaining and a recognized leader in financial reporting and economic analysis.

SOURCE: Export Development Canada

For further information:

Phil Taylor
Export Development Canada
Tel: (613) 598-2904
Blackberry: ptaylor@edc.ca


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.