CBA Libris Awards Shortlist Revealed

Two special Lifetime Achievement Awards to be presented to Alice Munro and Jack Rabinovitch

TORONTO, May 9, 2013 /CNW/ - Canadian Booksellers Association (CBA) and Retail Council of Canada (RCC) are delighted to announce today the 2013 CBA Libris Awards shortlist. Voted on by members of the Canadian book industry, the CBA Libris Awards will bring the book community together on Monday June 3 to honour talented authors whose works were embraced by book-buyers, and the dedicated professionals who ensured those authors' books connected meaningfully with readers.

"Canadian books and authors have dominated the literary scene this year and we are excited to celebrate all those who have moved, impressed and inspired us over the past year," said CBA President Mark Lefebvre. "The Libris Awards are the only opportunity for the industry to gather together and highlight the significant contributions and achievements of our dynamic industry."

For the first-time ever, CBA will present two special Lifetime Achievement Awards, one to master story-teller and award-winning author Alice Munro and one to Jack Rabinovitch, founder of the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Booksellers vying for CBA Libris Awards include trade, specialty and campus bookstores from all over the country. The nominees in the Bookseller of the Year category are BookLore (Orangeville, ON), Galliano Island Books (Galliano Island, BC) and Owl's Nest Books (Calgary, AB). This year's Campus bookselling nominees are Queen's University (Kingston, ON), University of Toronto Bookstore, and UBC Bookstore (Vancouver, BC). The annual Chase Paymentech Young Bookseller of the Year Award, recognizing a bookseller under 30 who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, commitment, initiative, innovation and expertise will also be awarded.

This year's nominated publishers are HarperCollins Canada, House of Anansi Press, Penguin Group Canada, Random House of Canada and Scholastic Canada. Author of the Year nominees are Terry Fallis, Will Ferguson, Alice Munro and Nancy Richler.

To view the 2013 Libris Awards shortlist, click here.

SPECIAL PANEL PRESENTATION: To kick-off this year's Libris celebration, a panel of booksellers and publishers will sit down to discuss trends, innovation and strategy in the bookselling industry. This panel is open to all those attending the Libris Awards Dinner.

For more information about the panel and the Libris Awards Dinner, click here.

A limited number of media passes for the Dinner are available.

SOURCE: Canadian Booksellers Association

For further information:

For more information or to purchase tickets, contact: 
Jodi White, CBA Senior Manager 
Tel: (416) 467-7883, ext.1 Email:


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.