and Quill & Quire Announce Finalists for 2012 First Novel Award

SEATTLE, Feb. 27, 2013 /CNW/ - ( ) today announced the finalists for the 37th Annual First Novel Award. This Canadian literary award recognizes the outstanding talent of Canadian novelists who have published their first novel in 2012.  

"The First Novel Award plays an important role in furthering the careers of new Canadian novelists and is proud to support such a fantastic literary tradition," said Steve Oliver, country manager for "Year after year, we've seen First Novel Award winners become some of Canada's most beloved novelists - and this year's crop of talented novelists will no doubt take their place among them."

The five nominees for the 2012 First Novel Award, listed alphabetically by author, are:

  • Y by Marjorie Celona (Hamish Hamilton Canada)
  • The Rest Is Silence by Scott Fotheringham (Goose Lane Editions)
  • People Park by Pasha Malla (House of Anansi Press)
  • Malarky by Anakana Schofield (Biblioasis)
  • Ru by Kim Thúy (Random House Canada)

The winner will be announced on April 24 at the annual First Novel Award event in Toronto. The winner will receive CAD $7,500 and all finalists will receive a $750 gift certificate.

"A first novel should be brash and ambitious, and announce the arrival of a new talent. That quality is something this diverse group of books has in common," said Stuart Woods, editor of Quill & Quire and head judge for this year's event. 

Additional judges include Meaghan Strimas, academic coordinator for creative writing at the University of Guelph; Madeleine Thien, author and 2006 winner of the First Novel Award; and Alexi Zentner, author and 2011 nominee for the First Novel Award.

Since 1976, the First Novel Award has launched the careers of some of Canada's most beloved novelists.  Previous winners include Michael Ondaatje (1976), Joan Barfoot (1978), Joy Kogawa (1981), W.P. Kinsella (1982), Nino Ricci (1990), Rohinton Mistry (1991), Shyam Selvadurai (1994), Anne Michaels (1996), Margaret Gibson (1997), Andre Alexis (1998), Alan R. Wilson and David Macfarlane (co-winners, 1999), Eva Stachniak (2000), Michael Redhill (2001), Mary Lawson (2002), Michel Basilières (2003), Colin McAdam (2004), Joseph Boyden (2005), Madeleine Thien (2006), Gil Adamson (2007), Joan Thomas (2008), Jessica Grant (2009), Eleanor Catton (2010) and David Bezmozgis (2011).

More information about the 2012 First Novel Award shortlist can be found at

About ( is part of the global family of Amazon Web sites that have become known for great prices, selection, and convenience. customers can find and discover millions of English and French books, Kindle books, CDs, videos, sports and outdoors products, DVDs and electronics, watches, tools, baby, home and garden products, as well as a vast array of software, video games, and consoles--all at everyday low prices. offers FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime, and FREE Super Saver Shipping on qualified orders of $25 CAD or more delivered to a single Canadian address. sources products directly from Canadian publishers and distributors, ensuring a rich offering of Canadian titles and content. Features such as original editorial reviews in English and French and product recommendations help customers find the right products for them among the site's broad selection.

Amazon and its affiliates operate websites, including,,,,,,,, and As used herein, "," "we," "our" and similar terms include, Inc., and its subsidiaries, unless the context indicates otherwise.

Forward-Looking Statements
This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. Actual results may differ significantly from management's expectations. These forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties that include, among others, risks related to competition, management of growth, new products, services and technologies, potential fluctuations in operating results, international expansion, outcomes of legal proceedings and claims, fulfillment and data center optimization, seasonality, commercial agreements, acquisitions and strategic transactions, foreign exchange rates, system interruption, inventory, government regulation and taxation, payments and fraud. More information about factors that potentially could affect's financial results is included in's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including its most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and subsequent filings.


For further information:

For media inquiries, please contact:
Noor Marzook or Mercedes Smith
NATIONAL Public Relations or
416-848-1404 or 416-586-1929


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.