UNB earns national recognition as the most entrepreneurial university in Canada

The University of New Brunswick was recognized for its leadership in advancing entrepreneurship in Canada at the 2014 Startup Canada Awards Finale

TORONTO, June 13, 2014 /CNW/ - The University of New Brunswick (UNB) was named Post-Secondary Institution of the Year at the 2014 Startup Canada Awards on Thursday evening in a ceremony and reception atop the CN Tower.

In the last 25 years, UNB has emerged as a hotbed of innovation and entrepreneurship in Canada by combining experiential education with opportunities for mentorship, skill-development, leadership and commercialization.

UNB President Eddy Campbell says this award is tied directly to the innovation agenda in New Brunswick. "This is really a win for the entire entrepreneurial ecosystem in Atlantic Canada and an endorsement of the culture of innovation that is booming in this province," said Dr. Campbell.

"UNB has earned its spot as the most entrepreneurial university in Canada because we've established infrastructure on our campuses that empowers our faculty, staff and students to transform ideas into industry-leading technologies and business solutions."

Thanks to investment and support from government, non-profit and community partners, UNB has launched 10 startups in the last three years and has 12 more in the development stage.

Gerry Pond, visionary entrepreneur, investor, philanthropist and co-founder of UNB's Pond-Deshpande Centre, also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from Startup Canada for his commitment to uniting and strengthening the entrepreneurship community in Atlantic Canada.

Dr. Dhirendra Shukla, chair of the J. Herbert Smith Centre for Technology Management and Entrepreneurship, accepted the award on behalf of UNB.

"While our faculties of business, and institutes like the International Business & Entrepreneurship Centre, the Pond-Deshpande Centre and the Wallace McCain Institute deserve special recognition for our stature as the most entrepreneurial university in Canada, the network that surrounds and sustains the talented and passionate minds at UNB," said Dr. Shukla.

"We're part of a tremendous entrepreneurial ecosystem in Atlantic Canada and supported by government and community partners who believe in the power of innovation and entrepreneurship to drive social and economic change."

The Startup Canada Awards celebrate and distinguish the individuals, communities and institutions in Canada that have demonstrated innovation, excellence, outstanding achievement and created an impact in advancing Canadian entrepreneurship.

2014 Startup Canada Award Winners

Wolfblass Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Gerry Pond
Runner-Up: Gary Will
Honourable Mention: Allan Scott 

Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Winner: Linda Manziaris
Runner Up: Boris Martin
Honourable Mention: William Zhou 

Media Person of the Year
Winner: Rick Spence (Ontario)
Runner-Up: Rob Lewis (BC)
Honourable Mention: Peter Moreira 

Educator of the Year
Winner: Dr. Mary Kilfoil
Runner-Ups: Ajay Agrawal & Howard Armitage
Honourable Mentions: Michael Avedesian and Brent Mainprize 

Mentor of the Year
Winner: Sean Wise
Runner-Up: LP Maurice
Honourable Mentions: Randy Yatscoff, Cathy Kuzel & Robert Zed 

Ecosystem Builder of the Year
Winner: Chris Johnson
Runner-Ups: Dan Gunn & Phil Telio
Honourable Mention: Joel Adams & Bob Pelley 

Investor of the Year
Winner: Randy Thompson

Non-Profit Organization of the Year
Winner: MaRS Discovery District
Runner-Up: Launch Academy
Honourable Mentions: La Fondation Montreal, Northern Alberta Business Incubator and Ladies Learning Code 

Entrepreneurial Effect Awards
Winner: International Startup Festival
Runner-Up: Fundica
Honourable Mentions: Entrepreneur 101 at the MaRS Discovery District, Clarity.fm and HumberLaunch

Startup Community of the Year
Winner: Startup Calgary
Runner-Ups: Startup Fredericton  & Startup Winnipeg
Honourable Mentions: Startup Prince George, Startup Waterloo Region & Quebec Startup 

Post-Secondary Institution of the Year
Winner: University of New Brunswick
Runner-Up: Ryerson University (Ontario)
Honourable Mention: University of Waterloo 

Government Organization of the Year
Winner: Build in Canada Innovation Program
Runner-Up: BC Innovation Council
Honourable Mention: Women's Enterprise Initiative 

Anchor Company of the Year
Winner: Microsoft
Runner-Up: Shopify
Honourable Mention: Hootsuite 

Incubator of the Year
Winner: TEC Edmonton
Runner-Up: Alberta Women Entrepreneurs 

Accelerator of the Year
Winner: Wavefront
Runner-Up: FounderFuel

Professional Services Organization of the Year
Winner: EY Canada
Runner-Up: McInnes Cooper
Honourable Mention: Boast Capita

Image with caption: "From left to right is: Martin Wielemaker, Associate Professor, Business Administration; Karina Leblanc, Executive Director, Pond-Deshpande Centre; Dhirendra Shukla, Chair, Dr. J. Herbert Smith Centre for Technology Management and Entrepreneurship. (CNW Group/University of New Brunswick)". Image available at: http://photos.newswire.ca/images/download/20140613_C7008_PHOTO_EN_41401.jpg

SOURCE: University of New Brunswick

For further information:

Media contact: 

Kelsey Seymour
(506) 478-2935

Profil de l'entreprise

University of New Brunswick

Renseignements sur cet organisme


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.