Statement by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, on the Presentation of the CBC Short Story Prize and the Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada

OTTAWA, March 26, 2013 /CNW/ - The CBC Short Story Prize and the Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada today recognized and rewarded Canadian talent by highlighting original works by writers in both official languages. The prizes were awarded to the best original, unpublished, Canadian-authored short stories.

This year's finalists have shown us once again that Canada has a wealth of wonderful storytellers who work in diverse literary genres. They successfully entertain us, educate us, and make important contributions to our rich cultural heritage.

Our Government is proud to support authors and the publishing of books, an important part of our distinctive identity and dynamic culture. Each year, publishers supported by the Canada Book Fund produce well over 6,000 new Canadian-authored titles by more than 4,000 Canadian writers and translators.

On behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada, I congratulate all this year's finalists and the two winners, Becky Blake for The Three Times Rule (CBC Short Story Prize) and Fabien Philippe for Janken (Prix de la nouvelle Radio-Canada).

SOURCE: Canadian Heritage

For further information:

For more information (media only), please contact:

Sébastien Gariépy
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.