Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Sailing Team Members of the 2012 Canadian Olympic and Paralympic Teams

OTTAWA, June 1, 2012 /CNW/ - Congratulations to the sailing athletes who have earned their spots on the 2012 Canadian Olympic and Paralympic Teams. The members of the 2012 Canadian Olympic Sailing Team are David Wright, Danielle Dube, Zachary Plavsic, Nikola Girke, Richard Clarke, Tyler Bjorn, Greg Douglas, Mike Leigh, Luke Ramsay, Gordon Cook, and Hunter Lowden; and the athletes on the 2012 Canadian Paralympic Sailing Team are Paul Tingley, Bruce Millar, Logan Campbell, John McRoberts, and Stacie Louttit.

These athletes have been training hard, devoting time and energy in order to qualify for the highest level of sport competition at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The Harper Government is pleased to support Olympic and Paralympic sports and our Canadian athletes, who are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. As the largest single contributor to sport in this country, we support sport participation and excellence from playground to podium.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all the best to our Canadian Olympic and Paralympic Team athletes as they prepare for the Games. I would also like to thank the coaches, family, and officials who support and encourage the athletes who will proudly represent our country.


SOURCE Canadian Heritage

For further information:

(media only), please contact:

Jenny Van Alstyne
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Bal Gosal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of State (Sport)


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.