Statement by the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport), on the Announcement of the Nominees to the 2012 Canadian Paralympic Women's Wheelchair Basketball Team

OTTAWA, June 14, 2012 /CNW/ - As Minister of State (Sport), I offer my heartfelt congratulations to wheelchair basketball athletes Cindy Ouellet, Elaine Allard, Elisha Williams, Katie Harnock, Jamey Jewells, Janet McLachlan, Jessica Vliegenthart, Kendra Ohama, Maude Jacques, Tamara Steeves, Tara Feser, and Tracey Ferguson, who were today named to the 2012 Canadian Paralympic Team. Congratulations as well to their coach, Bill Johnson.

Our athletes are an enormous source of pride for all Canadians. That is why the Harper Government is proud to provide our continued support for Paralympic sports and our Canadian Paralympic athletes who will proudly represent our great nation on the world stage.

As Minister of State (Sport), I wish all these athletes the very best of success as they prepare for this incredible milestone in their sport careers. We will be cheering for you and your teammates this summer as you begin your pursuit for world-class athletic excellence at the Paralympic Games in London.

SOURCE Canadian Heritage

For further information:

media only:

Jenny Van Alstyne
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Bal Gosal, P.C., M.P.
Minister of State (Sport)


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.