Notification - Change of Results for the Electoral District of Thornhill

TORONTO, June 14, 2014 /CNW/ - On June 13, 2014, the Returning Officer for the Electoral District of Thornhill, Anna Di Ruscio, conducted the Official Tabulation. Official Tabulation is a regular process that occurs in every electoral district and is administered in accordance with Section 65 of the Election Act

At the Official Tabulation, the Returning Officer compiles the results for each candidate from the reported results from each poll. Ballots are not counted at the Official Tabulation because they are sealed and secured immediately after they are counted by the poll officials after the polls have closed at the various voting locations in the electoral district.

Candidates and their scrutineers are entitled to be present at the Official Tabulation. At yesterday's proceedings, representatives of the Ontario Liberal Party candidate and the PC Party of Ontario candidate were present.

At the Official Tabulation, the unofficial candidate results submitted by officials via telephone and then announced on election night differed in some instances from the official candidate results that were formally documented in the forms submitted to the Returning Officer and reviewed yesterday. The differences can be attributed to transpositions and other minor clerical errors.

At the conclusion of the Official Tabulation, each Returning Officer declares the candidate with the most votes to be elected. As a result of the Official Tabulation, the Returning Officer for the Electoral District of Thornhill has declared that Gila Martow, the candidate for the PC Party of Ontario, has obtained the most votes.

The table below provides a description of the distribution of votes that were unofficially reported on election night and those that are being reported after official tabulation.

Candidate Political Party Number of
Report on
Number of
Votes after
Gene Balfour Libertarian/Libertarien 585 578
David Bergart Green Party Of Ontario/Parti Vert de l'Ontario 1231 1232
Erin Goodwin Freedom Party Of Ontario/Parti de la Liberté - Ontario 262 234
Cindy Hackelberg Ontario NDP/NPD 4005 4058
Gila Martow PC Party of Ontario/Parti PC de l'Ontario 21752 21868
Sandra Yeung Racco Ontario Liberal Party/Parti libéral de l'Ontario 21837 21783

Elections Ontario is the non-partisan agency responsible for administering provincial elections, by-elections and referenda.




SOURCE: Elections Ontario

For further information:

Elections Ontario Media Relations
416.212.6186 / 1.866.252.2152

Disponible en français


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.