AIMCo Announces Reappointments to Board Of Directors

EDMONTON, March 19, 2013 /CNW/ - Alberta Investment Management Corporation (AIMCo) is pleased to announce the reappointment of four members of its Board of Directors - Ms. Virginia Holmes, Mr. Daryl Katz, Ms. Andrea Rosen and Mr. Mac Van Wielingen.  The official reappointment follows today's signing of the Order in Council and ensures that AIMCo continues its pursuit to be among the best institutional investment managers and inspire the confidence of Albertans.

Of the re-appointed Board Members, AIMCo CEO Leo de Bever says, "The re-appointment of these four members of AIMCo's Board is recognition of the considerable value they bring to our organization.  Their combination of senior expertise in investment finance, business and law, coupled with an international perspective is invaluable as AIMCo increasingly looks abroad for unique investment opportunities for our Clients."

The AIMCo Board of Directors is responsible for overseeing the management of the business and affairs of the Corporation.  Guided by this mandate, the Board sets the strategic direction and oversees the development and implementation of policies and procedures that govern the day-to-day conduct of AIMCo's business. All Directors are duly appointed to the Board by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and must have experience in investment management, finance, accounting or law, or have served as an executive or director with a large, publicly traded company. Individuals should also have, to the extent practicable, experience in executive management of a substantial corporation. All Directors are fully independent of management.

Biographical Notes

Virginia A. Holmes is a former Chief Executive Officer of AXA Investment Managers Ltd. in London, U.K. Ms. Holmes currently serves on the boards of U.K. Post Office Ltd., JPMorgan Claverhouse Investment Trust plc, Standard Life Investments Ltd. and Universities Superannuation Scheme Ltd. She has a BA from Durham University.

Daryl A. Katz is the founder and Executive Chairman of Katz Group.  He is also a member of the Canadian Council of Chief Executives. Mr. Katz has an LLB from the University of Alberta.

Andrea S. Rosen is the former Vice Chair of TD Bank Financial Group and President of TD Canada Trust.  Ms. Rosen serves on the boards of Manulife Financial Inc., Emera Inc. and Hiscox Ltd. Ms. Rosen has an LLB from Osgoode Hall Law School, an MBA from the Schulich School of Business, York University, and a BA magna cum laude from Yale University.

Mac H. Van Wielingen is a founder, Co-Chairman and Director of ARC Financial Corp. and a founder and Chairman of ARC Resources Ltd. Mr. Van Wielingen has an HBA from the Richard Ivey School of Business and has studied post-graduate economics at Harvard University.

About Alberta Investment Management Corporation (AIMCo)

AIMCo is one of Canada's largest and most diversified institutional investment managers. AIMCo was established on January 1, 2008 with a mandate to provide superior long-term investment results for its clients. AIMCo operates independently from the Government of Alberta and invests globally on behalf of 28 pension, endowment and government funds in the Province of Alberta, including the Alberta Heritage Savings Trust Fund. For more information about AIMCo, visit

SOURCE: Alberta Investment Management Corp.

For further information:

Media Contact:
Dénes Németh
Manager, Corporate Communication
P: 780-392-3857
M: 780-932-4013


Jetez un coup d’œil sur nos forfaits personnalisés ou créez le vôtre selon vos besoins de communication particuliers.

Commencez dès aujourd'hui .


Remplissez un formulaire d'adhésion à CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1-877-269-7890.


Demandez plus d'informations sur les produits et services de CNW ou communiquez avec nous au 1‑877-269-7890.